A Nautical Fathers’ Day

What do you get your dad for Fathers’ Day when he absolutely insists you do NOT buy him a gift?   …well, you go to church with him that morning, have lunch with him at his favorite restaurant (even when you don’t care for it)   ….and, if you’re crafty, you make him a card, so at least you can throw some extra love in that way.  Dad’s card this year was inspired by several different “patriotic colors” challenges around the blogosphere this spring. And, since Dad was in the Navy, a watery red/white/blue thing seemed perfect.

 

The DSP used here, SU’s now-retired “Nautical Expedition,” was one I received as a bonus on an order during Sale-a-bration, when they ran low on the tote bags. I’m always more than happy to take free paper.  The even happier news about this  masculine-trending pack is that it’s another one available in a digital version via MDS2, so I can create with it even after my stash is gone. And this card is all about the designer series paper.

 

There are five different layers of DSP here, including the “banner” I fussy-cut from the border on one page, and then substituted my own sentiment with the help of the Decorative Label Punch.

The pleasant little lighthouse is from one corner of one of the 12×12 pages.  On the other side of that same page was a very antiquated sailing vessel.  I was kinda torn on which image to use, but I decided I might not want to use something THAT “old” on my dad’s card….although I did embellish with “antique brads”….I don’t have to tell him their name, though!

 

Thanks for visiting my Little Corner today! –Terri

Leave a Reply

