Reason To Smile

This year has been rough on my group of friends, health wise. There are seven of us who’ve called ourselves “The Daisies” for the past bunches of years…we came up with that name, because at the time, we were all under 40 and just too old to call ourselves members of the “Red Hat Society”. The acronym “DAISY” was chosen….and now none of us remember exactly how we came up with it, but we think it stood for “Divine And Inspiring Sisters (of the) Yayas.”  Obviously, this name was derived when we were being our usual silly selves.

We’ve been through a lot, we Daisies….weddings, and births, and divorces, and deaths, and all kinds of illnesses. This year, though, TWO of us are dealing with breast cancer.  Fortunately, they’ve both got great prognoses at this point, but it’s a pain (literally) as they work through all the tests, and surgeries, and treatments. I hurt when my Daisy-sisters hurt.

I made this card for Daisy M. The “Reason to Smile” stamp set is always going to be one of my favorites…because it’s got daisies! (I think a lot of folks were coloring them and using them as sunflowers –and they’re gorgeous that way — but I always see daisies!)

The way the colors came out in the photo, it’s hard to tell, but I’ve used Raspberry Ripple, Pink Pirouette, and Whisper White on the card. I created the stamped/sentiment panel deliberately double-stamping the daisy design and then normally stamping the smaller flower to create my own designer paper panel. The sentiment is from “Friendly Phrases”. I would say that it’s my favorite sentiment stamp set from SU….but whichever set I’m using at the time is my favorite. I always keep ALL my sentiment stamps (retiring stamps don’t bug me at all!)…because I like words!

The sweet little butterflies were triple cut using the “Beautiful Wings” Embosslit…LOVE my Big Shot! I made each by alternating Raspberry Ripple from the DSP stack with some Pink Pirouette CS, putting them all together and attaching them to the card with glue dots. A tiny pearl in the center of each gives them a touch of bling. Using my trusty bone-folder, I fanned out the wings a bit to simulate fluttering.  I finished the card off with some retired (very wide) Pink Pirouette ribbon, but I think any of the current SU ribbons in a soft pink…or even Whisper White…would be just as sweet.  I wanted a very PINK card, and I think I achieved it.

I had the great joy of hand-delivering this card to Ms. Daisy M the day before her birthday in August, as I was vacationing in the Florida area near where she lives. It’s the first time I’ve seen her in months, and it was after her surgery…and it was just SO good to see her and give her a hug. Cancer is a wretched, wretched thing.  Which reminds me, I’m personally involved with the American Cancer Society’s Relay for Life, which raises money for research, local assistance for cancer patients, etc.  And they always appreciate donations and involvement with your local Relay event. But if you choose another cancer charity–that’s fine. Just please give…the money used for research on breast cancer in the past 22 years since my mom DIED from breast cancer has made it possible for my friends to fight this beast knowing their outcome will be good.  Hope is a priceless big, big thing!

Thanks for visiting my Little Corner today! — Terri

One thought on “Reason To Smile

  1. Hi webmaster do you need unlimited content for your
    site ? What if you could copy post from other websites,
    make it unique and publish on your page – i know the right tool for
    you, just search in google:
    Loimqua’s article tool

Leave a Reply

