Quilted Comfort

My first batch of goodies from the 2012-13 Stampin’ UP! Annual Catalog included some of the prettiest stuff SU has ever offered, in my humble paper-hoarding opinion. ALL of the DSP this year is gorgeous, but I absolutely fell in love with “Comfort Cafe”.  The colors (Cajun Craze, Midnight Muse, Pool Party, Soft Suede, Summer Starfruit, and Very Vanilla) are both deep and rich….and somehow also soft and muted at the same time.  Not sure how that’s even possible, but the patterns definitely thrill me. There are a couple of chevrons, a stripe, some other subtle geometrics, and florals that manage to be neither too-feminine nor too-masculine.   (Hmmm….this is sorta making me think that Comfort Cafe is the “Three Goldilocks” of the paper world….”ju-u-u-st right!”)

My first card with this paper-lusciousness was, sadly, a sympathy card. I pulled out my very favorite sentiment stamp of that type from “Thoughts & Prayers”. The phrase “Thinking of You” is just perfect for so many occasions. I framed the sentiment with the help of the Designer Frames Embossing Folder, which I cut out and then used the Paper Piercing Pack to highlight the upper corner between the three brads. Another embossing folder “Square Lattice” was used to create a quilt-like effect on the three different DSP patterns I chose to use as the background paper. I cut them all to size, glued them together, and then ran them all through the Big Shot at one time. This gave the paper a –for lack of a better term– “smooshed-together” look, as if it was all one layer of paper. Pretty neat.

My favorite part of this card is the middle layer panel, behind the sentiment panel. I stamped the beautiful vine from “Thoughts & Prayers” in soft suede ink onto a piece of Very Vanilla CS. Then I fussy-cut several of the flowers from the Comfort Cafe DSP and glued them to the vine. I then ran that piece through the Big Shot with the Square Lattice folder…making a very personally-designed DSP.  The stamped vine mimics the flow of the vine pattern on the CC DSP quite nicely. Yet another example of SU’s fabulous product coordination.

My card was finished off with a couple of buttons from the Naturals and Regals collections, which were tied together with the linen thread and then adhered to the “fourth corner” of the sentiment panel with some glue dots. Since I’ve always been a “stickler” for things “sticking together” whenever I create something, I’ve been very pleased to learn how well those tiny little dots of glue do their job!

This card layout was courtesy of Freshly Made Sketches (#43) here.  It’s a very versatile sketch and I’ll be using it again.

Thanks for visiting my Little Corner today! –Terri

Leave a Reply

