FMS#54 and October awareness

Today’s card starts a “batch of ’em” that I’ll be doing during the month of October, in an observance of sorts of Breast Cancer Awareness Month. I’m actively involved in the American Cancer Society‘s area Relay for Life, my mom died of breast cancer 22 years ago, and I have TWO friends currently going through breast cancer treatment. Since my mom’s birthday was ALSO in October–this is a pretty big month in my neck of the woods. What better way to honor these women I love so much, than to salute them with ‘art from my heart’, as I also work on raising some funds for Relay?

This card was inspired by this week’s Freshly Made Sketch #54.

The sketch was perfect for the kind of card I wanted to make–simple on the sentiment, with a big punch of “wow” in the featured element.

I’m using some retired SU DSP here, simply because I have a lot of it in pinks! And with a sentiment like “spoil yourself today“, the addition of Chocolate Chip to the lovely Pink Pirouette was an obvious choice….what better way to spoil yourself than with chocolate?  This sentiment is from the current SU stamp set “Bring on the Cake”.  Amazing how many of these sentiments are usable far beyond their “set” intention.  Since Relay for Life’s slogan focuses on a world with “more birthdays”, though, I couldn’t think of a better set to use!

The featured shape was punched several times– out of different DSP’s– with the Blossom punch. The largest flower from the Boho Blossoms punch was used in the center; some tulle ribbon was added as a layer, and the whole thing is topped off and held together with an Antique Brad. These are the most luscious and versatile  embellishments ever.

The sentiment was punched out with the Oval Punch, then backed with some Pink Pirouette DSP punched with the Scallop Oval. This little pampering thought was attached with a short piece of chocolate chip ribbon and some glue dots on one of the blossom layers.

It’s a simple, sweet card for a very complex and horrible subject. Breast (or any) cancer is awful. I’m working on a world with more lovely cards and crafts in it….if you can, find an ACS Relay activity in your area…and work on helping us make a world with more birthdays!

Thanks for visiting my Little Corner today! –Terri

3 thoughts on “FMS#54 and October awareness

  1. Beautiful card …. and beautiful floral …. I love the addition of the tulle, so soft and feminine …. great job!
    Thanks for joining us this week at Freshly Made Sketches!!!

Leave a Reply

