Take Care of Yourself while we punch out cancer

Here’s another “think pink” card I made for October’s Breast Cancer Awareness month. It’s more retired SU DSP, and some extra crafting accessories I had laying around…but I was able to put it together using some cool current SU tools.  My pink color is Pink Pirouette again, with a bright touch of Riding Hood Red to give it a more upbeat “pop”.

This layout, while ultimately ‘tweaked’ enough that it’s fully my own, was inspired from several I’ve seen recently with the DSP as the star of the show. Since I’m working the whole pink theme this month…and have all this luscious leftover SU paper just staring at me, this kind of design worked well for today’s card.  I’ve got some happy pink spots for the bold background, a soft and subtle all-over pink left “border”, and the main panel, which features this gorgeous rose.

I cropped three different sizes using the Labels CollectionFramelits dies, and then also fussy-cut the same rose from another section of the DSP and popped it up on Dimensionals, after snipping and shaping the leaves a bit for even more 3-D effect. Before mounting this to the Framelits panels, I punched a hole with my trusty Paper Piercing Tool and pushed a little wired ribbon rose I’ve had waiting around for just the type project. It was the perfect finishing touch for the focal flower.

The sentiment was stamped with a retired SU hostess set phrase and then sponged with Pink Pirouette and cropped with the Large Oval Punch, and backed with a piece of the coordinating Riding Hood Red DSP, cropped with the Extra-Large Oval Punch. This is popped up on some more Dimensionals and I added a little bit of pink ribbon (GOTTA have ribbon on these kinds of BCA projects!) and a button from my stash.

Other tools used on this card were the Scallop Edge Punch for the side panel and a little strip of Riding Hood Red cropped with the Dotted Scallop Ribbon Border Punch….and I used the Corner Rounder to soften the edges of the large back panel.  There was something so perfect about using all these punches on this card. After all, this month, we’re all about “fighting like a girl”….and as I work with my area Relay for Life team, we DO want to PUNCH OUT CANCER!

–Thanks for visiting my Little Corner today! –Terri

Leave a Reply

