Here’s to You NAC #14 and CCMC221

Happy October 6! This is National Cardmaking Day, and I’ve been busy doing so all day long. Just barely finished this one in time to get it entered into one of the challenges that inspired it.

Nacho Average Challenge (#14) colors this time were perfect for my October Breast Cancer Awareness cards, since it included a great pink color. For whatever reason, I don’t use Pretty in Pink very often and seldom use So Saffron either–so this challenge gave me an opportunity to flex my color muscles a bit, too. I was very happy with how well they paired up with the Early Espresso.  Leant a sort of vintage vibe to the card, I think. My DSP’s used here are some Sale-a-Bration goodies from several seasons ago. I never throw out anything by Stampin’ UP!, and today I was glad I didn’t, because it was the ONLY DSP I currently own that has So Saffron in it!

This card was also inspired by this sketch at Create with Connie & Mary this week. The flagged elements of the design were perfect to feature ribbon, which is absolutely essential for a Breast Cancer Awareness card! I used some more old Sale-a-Bration goodies for the two So Saffron ribbons, but had absolutely NOTHING in Pretty in Pink. What to do? Well, I cut a length of my Very Vanilla Seam Binding (current product-Yay!), and “dyed” it with my Pretty in Pink marker and some mists of water. I used my heat gun to dry it quickly and then used my flat iron to “press” it a bit. Voila!–a slightly variegated-looking Pretty in Pink ribbon that I made myself….just gotta remember to make sure there’s no ink left on my flat iron before I use it on my hair again!

My little flowers were punched with the smallest petal on the Boho Blossoms Punch and with the larger of the circles on the Owl Builder Punch; some pearls add a soft touch to the centers. The sentiment, stamped directly onto the DSP, is from the very current and very happy “Friendly Phrases” set. And that sentiment is mounted using four different punches–I’m still doing everything I can to PUNCH OUT CANCER!

Thanks for visiting my Little Corner of the world today! –Terri

12 thoughts on “Here’s to You NAC #14 and CCMC221

  1. What a wonderful card! Love all those sweet little flowers with the pearls! And I love how you layered all those punched pieces! Thanks for playing the challenge at Create with Connie and Mary!

  2. The little flowers are so sweet! Great colors! The pearls add that little something extra. Thanks for playing the Create with Connie & Mary challenge this week!

  3. Oh how SWEET!! I love all your little punched images! Thanks for playing along in the Create with Connie and Mary Thursday Challenge!

Leave a Reply

