cQc #157 A Pink Ribbon For You

Here’s a pink ribbon for you for another observance of October’s Breast Cancer Awareness month. Unfortunately, there are far too many for whom I wear pink.

The  challenge this week at colourQ was a must-play for me, since the inspiration photo was a pink ribbon t-shirt! The so-pink colors teamed with classic gray and black and white…well–I want this t-shirt, too! I haven’t used Melon Mambo in some time, and I was glad to get it out for this challenge, since it’s one of my favorites. I both stamped the (now retired) SU pink ribbon on the top cardstock panel, and then snipped a thin strip of Melon Mambo CS and fashioned a 3-D paper ribbon to sit atop it.  Basic Gray frames and backs each layer, which gradually gets darker with each panel.

This variation on the popular ‘triple time stamping’ technique is courtesy of the witty and talented Brian King over at Stamp with Brian. Brian’s great post inspired me to apply his concept with pinks, and then this cQc challenge just gave me the date to get it done. Brian also has a very easy-to-follow tutorial of how to ‘triple-time’ here. Brian’s instructions are clear and concise and very easy to follow.

As one friend prepares for her radiation treatments, another friend heals from her surgery last week, and a relative I love very much heads to get a mammogram this week after a lump was found, I have to say that making these BCA cards this month is more therapy (for me) than anything. I’m using these (and others) each day on my personal facebook page to raise awareness–and to encourage folks to donate to my American Cancer Society Relay for Life page. It’s the organization I have chosen to work with (dealing with ALL cancers–not just breast cancer), but there are other very worthwhile organizations out there who are helping in this pink-ribboned-war. Sure, I’ll be proud if my Relay team raises lots of money this year….but mostly, I just want to get enough money to the right places to help those hurting now and to provide serious funds to find a cure for this awful beast, so I don’t really care (ultimately) who earns it. Anything you can give, any where, will help. It would be wonderful if someday the color pink could quit representing a battle we’re fighting….and start being the color that means VICTORY.

Thanks for visiting my Little Corner today! –Terri

5 thoughts on “cQc #157 A Pink Ribbon For You

  1. Lovely card, Terri, your card for awareness is beautifully stamped! Thanks for sharing your card and your story with us at the colourQ this week. Prayers for all those you mentioned!

Leave a Reply

