Some Freshly Dynamic Birthday Wishes

Happy Monday! Today, I’m playing along with two challenges, Freshly Made Sketches and Dynamic Duos, to create one of the many birthday cards I’ll be needing soon for all the November birthdays in my life.

Freshly Made Sketches #56

This sketch at FMS is another one that I’ll return to again and again– it’s so adaptable to many different occasions and stamping ideas. With Freshly Made sketch challenges, clean-lined is the order of the day, but the “rules” still allow for a very vintage vibe, if that’s your style….and it’s definitely my style of choice. I kept the clean, crisp lines of the sketch, but used a couple of embossing folders to add some old-fashioned texture to the DSP elements on the card. The Perfect Polka Dots EF was used on the narrow horizontal strip, and the Square Lattice EF was used on the large background piece of DSP. Both DSP pieces are from Comfort Cafe, and I’m particularly happy with  how this collection seems to love being run through my Big Shot and grabbing some extra oomph. The Lattice folder lends an almost quilted look to patterned paper, and the little polka dots were just the touch the piece of Soft Suede DSP needed to complement the grid pattern.

Dynamic Duos #24

My color choices for this card were SUCH a joy for me. Dynamic Duos‘ challenge this week helped to determine everything else about this card. Pool Party is one of my very favorites, and Soft Suede is such an elegant–and old-fashioned–neutral. Adding in Very Vanilla as my “allowed” neutral helped me pick my DSP, embellishments, and made my stamp choices for me.

 

Stamps used here are the elegant-lined “Birthday Wishes” sentiment from the “Bring on the Cake” set–inked up in Soft Suede, and the so-very-lovely floral image from “Blooming with Kindness” stamped in Pool Party. The sentiment was first cropped using the Scallop Oval Punch, and then backed with a piece of Soft Suede punched with the Extra-Large Oval.   And, yes, I know. I keep using the floral image. But it’s gorgeous!…..and the recipient of this card LOVES flowers, so I get a pass on this duplication…..although I have stated that I’d love to ink this flower up in every SU color and make a wall mural with it.  I promise I won’t post that!

Embellishments are minimal (for me), but it kept the card with a touch of understated elegance. Some tiny Pearl Basics Jewels adorn the top scallops on the sentiment, and a larger one is on the center of the bow, which was made with the very-luscious Very Vanilla Seam Binding ribbon.

This card went together very quickly–another “plus” for the sketch–and now I’ve got at least one of the TEN birthday cards I’ve gotta make for next month done.

Thanks for visiting my Little Corner today! –Terri

4 thoughts on “Some Freshly Dynamic Birthday Wishes

Leave a Reply

