PPA145 Cheerful Jolly Jingles

Happy Friday! The weather is finally getting cooler…so naturally I wanted to make a Christmas card! Actually, I like making Christmas cards all year round, but I digress.  Today’s card is for this week’s Pals Paper Arts sketch challenge.

And what a great sketch it is to work with! The marvelous Ms. Moody has created a very versatile layout. I’ve got two more cards in mind that I’ll be making in the next couple of days that use this same design. The crisp lines and the angle of the banner showcase every element to great advantage–perfect to feature a favorite image, sentiment, OR paper.

For my card, I got to play with some of the goodies from the fabulous Holiday catty.  The banner element is done in the Cherry Cobbler Core’dinations Card Stock; I added some texture with the Petals-a-Plenty Embossing Folder, then very lightly sanded this paper to reveal a bit of the lighter-colored core.  This really emphasized the flowers!

My other card elements are all items from the Annual catalog. The DSP is the oh-so-happy “Be of Good Cheer”; the featured stamp and image are cut from the Jolly Jingles jumbo wheel. I rolled the wheel on my Versamark pad and then heat embossed with Cherry Cobbler. I also re-inked the wheel with my Gumball Green classic pad and then snipped out a couple pieces here and there to highlight, popping up the elements at varying heights. And I couldn’t resist coloring in the “o’s” and other closed shapes on the sentiments with my Gumball Green marker. Oh–and adding a pearl to the popped-up snowflake. Snowflakes deserve pearls, too!

I’m looking forward to working with this sketch again this weekend to create another Breast Cancer Awareness card, and I’m thinking it’ll be hard to find a better sketch for another of the birthday cards I need to knock out soon.  This card went together pretty quickly–can’t beat that!

Thanks for visiting my Little Corner today! –Terri

One thought on “PPA145 Cheerful Jolly Jingles

Leave a Reply

