You’re the Best – TST #88

TSOS #88

Here’s another “thinkin’ pink” card for October’s Breast Cancer Awareness Month — but it’s also a challenge-inspired creation today. Try Stampin’ on Tuesday‘s sketch this week immediately made me think of my Delicate Doilies Sizzlit and this lovely doily-covered page from the Festival of Prints DSP stack from the Holiday catalog.

The sketch elements were perfect for featuring a particularly delightful selection in this great pack of patterned paper…that has lovely prints that can be very Christmasy, but also some lovely papers, like this doily print, that are suitable for all year round. I needed a thank-you card; I needed another “pink” card; I needed to play in another card challenge.  Well, maybe I didn’t actually NEED to play in a challenge, but it’s a nice bonus to complete my trifecta of papercrafting-enabling-reasons.

I wasn’t a huge fan of Lucky Limeade when it was first introduced, but it coordinates so well with so many other SU colors, it didn’t take long to change my mind. And when this year’s In-Colors were introduced, I fell in love with the LL/Primrose Petals combo. Very sweet. Very feminine. I used LL ink on the sentiment, in the DSP, in a circle punched out of CS to back the bow, and I’m going to pretend like the large button is LL, too. (It’s not, of course, but it’s very close, and was in my stash screaming for the honor of adorning this card–I couldn’t say no and risk hurting its feelings.)

Primrose Petals — the pink of choice for this installment of BCA –shows up on the middle-sized doily, the strip of DSP (from the “Stack”), the card stock border, circle punch, and in the lovely 3/8″ Stitched Satin Ribbon used to make the double-loop bow. I sponged the edges of the sentiment banner with PP, as well. I’m not over-the-top with the pink here, but it fits nicely into my theme.

My card has a whole lot of “punch” again: several circle punches, and a whole BUNCH of punching (die-cutting) courtesy of my Big Shot.  In addition to the doilies, I’ve used the Adorning Accents Edgelits and Bitty Banners Framelits to knock out some really pretty shapes in no time.  I scrunched up one of the Very Vanilla doilies just for a bit of variety.

To complete my card, and top it off with some more feminine charm, I’ve used some Vintage Faceted Designer Buttons in varying sizes, and tied them all up with some linen thread.

This card is headed to a generous friend who is also involved with American Cancer Society’s Relay for Life and ‘thinks pink’, too. I hope she likes it-she deserves a very big thank-you!

–Thanks for visiting my Little Corner today! –Terri

4 thoughts on “You’re the Best – TST #88

Leave a Reply

