Summery Autumn Smooches for FMS57

Freshly Made Sketches #57I’ve been feeling under-the-weather for some time now–dealing with seasonal allergies–so I’m staying inside a LOT right now, even though the weather itself is beautiful here. Today was all sunshine and blue skies–and I was stuck indoors. Not to worry–that just means more papercrafting time….and I chose to make a sunny, happy card with this challenge entry.

Freshly Made Sketches‘ challenge this week is a GREAT sketch!  So many ways to use it, but I chose BIRTHDAY, because I’ve got a jillion I need to be making for the upcoming month.  Wanting some sunshine, having a birthday to commemorate, and finding this sketch to work with, just pretty much begged for me to use the Summer Smooches DSP–nothing happier than it anywhere. Yes, I know it’s WAY past summer now, but it’s never the wrong time for happy and sunny! And the design (and sentiment I’ve used) lends itself to occasions beyond “just” a birthday.

I kept the clean lines required by Freshly Made challenge guidelines, but I went a little crazy on layering here. I am completely in love with the Apothecary Accents Framelits–I’ve used two of them here, along with the coordinating stamp set, Layered Labels.  I stamped the “For You” sentiment twice–once in Real Red, cropping it out with the framelit, and then again in Island Indigo, and punched out only the center portion with the Large Oval.

(I love how the polka-dotted stamp coordinates so beautifully with that polka-dotted pattern on the DSP…and I really love how crisply the stamp inked up.) The rectangular framelit shape is cut from the DSP, and adorned with some (retired) Real Red brads, and then each layer was popped up with some dimensionals.

The large Daffodil Delight button is threaded with some Island Indigo Baker’s Twine, and I also wrapped some of the twine around some Real Red grosgrain ribbon and atop a strip of the DSP in the Island Indigo pattern. All this stuff is held down securely with some of the amazingly strong Glue Dots. By the way, I tend to use a lot of product that is retired–particularly my embellishments.  I love the SU product FAR too much to get rid of any of it just because it retires. But it’s easy to substitute current product for any of the elements. For instance, the large button may be substituted with a (smaller-sized) one from the Brights Buttons collection; the corduroy brads may be substituted with either the brads OR the buttons from the Brights collections, and there’s the new stitched version of the Real Red ribbon I’ve used here that would be perfect. The bones and design of the card would be the same–and would be doable with currently available product.  That’s the biggest bonus of SU products to me–the ease of coordination and substitution to achieve the look you want!

This card went together extremely quickly, so this sketch is definitely a keeper…..aaaaaand, I’ve got another birthday card DONE!

–Thanks for visiting my Little Corner today! –Terri

5 thoughts on “Summery Autumn Smooches for FMS57

  1. Nothing like some Summer Smooches to brighten up anyone’s day! I love how well the polka-dotted paper matches the floral paper. The buttons add a fun touch! Thanks for joining us at Freshly Made Sketches!

Leave a Reply

