PPA145 Take 2 for an Invitation

Hmmm…I’m experiencing a bit of deja vu here….oh, wait…I HAVE been here before. At least as far as the sketch goes. Yes, I decided to go ahead and make another card with this excellent sketch from Ms. Margaret at Pals Paper Arts. As they noted, it’s extremely versatile, and I was needing another card to mark Breast Cancer Awareness month. So, it’s PPA145, Take 2!

Again, with this sketch to work from, my card went together very quickly. This time I’ve mixed my requisite pink (Pink Pirouette, to be exact) with some Melon Mambo, Lucky Limeade, and the retired Concord Crush. I stockpiled as much of this luscious purple as I could before SU retired it this summer, because purple is the color of Relay for Life. It stands as the color inclusive and representational of ALL cancers. So I use a LOT of purple throughout the year in various Relay projects.  Aaaand….even though you canNOT tell from my photo, that cardstock banner IS purple. (I need to find some floodlights somewhere to take photos in the middle of the night, because that’s when I ALWAYS do these posts! Ah, well….)

The DSP I’ve used here is from the Cheerful Treat hostess set from last year. This is such happy, happy, HAPPY paper–obviously very aptly named!  I’ve used three different selections from the DSP, including to make the little flower and flower “flags” behind the main panel.

Okay, so I couldn’t get enough NATURAL light into the photo, but I managed to tweak the closeup here a LOT with magical computer light dust (have no clue how these programs work–I just know I love them).  So NOW you can see — kinda — that the card stock IS purple-icious, AND you can see that it’s been embossed. I love the Perfect Polka Dots Embossing Folder–it can evoke everything from sophistication to fun with a single pass through my Big Shot!

The beauty of this PPA sketch is that the focal panel is perfect for so many things–a great stamp set, a great sentiment, a great 3D element–so many options. It is also the perfect showcase for MY main attraction with this card: highlighting my cause. I generated my invitation wording in a simple, elegant font–in purple–then printed it out and “matted it” on several layers of DSP and card stock, and popped it all up on dimensionals to give it a lot of emphasis.  It’s a very SERIOUS cause, this fight against cancer…but it’s a very JOYOUS celebration each year when we gather for Relay for Life and walk around that track, raising money, raising awareness….and celebrating birthdays. My town’s event will be early in May next year. YOUR area will host one nearby to you–I hope you’ll join in the celebration!

Thanks for visiting my Little Corner today! –Terri

Leave a Reply

