NDC11–Digitally Enchanted Birthday

I’m going kuh-RA-zee playing with MDS since I re-installed it the other day. It’s still not MDS2, but it’s a LOT of fun…and thanks to the fabulous Spooktacular Stampin’ Up provided today, I’ve got some new goodies to play with soon as I get ’em downloaded.  Meanwhile, back to THIS post…

This is my very squarely orange entry for Naki and Nina’s Double Dare Challenge 11. Their delightfully interesting mix of challenge guidelines each week can render some fun — and sometimes funny — combinations to work with. This one was easy, though. Use “orange” and “squares”. No problem.

Since it’s October, the tendency to want to use the orange for a Halloween project is pretty overwhelming…but I so wanted to play with my digital goodies, and I’m SO glad I finally got to upload the Sale-A-Bration disc that I got …wow, how many months ago?  It’s about time I got to play! This Everyday Enchantment dsp has such a lovely, lovely batch of designs. I’m glad I still have some of the original dsp, but NOW I don’t ever have to run out at all–I can just print a new piece as I need it–digital is wonderful!

The digital stamp here is from Elementary Elegance. It’s definitely elegant! A lovely script font for the sentiment, and a frame flourish I colored in my “orange choice” for the challenge: Peach Parfait.  This is a soft orange, to be sure, but definitely orange! There’s also a tad of Calypso Coral in the dsp–and these two more flirty and feminine shades of orange blend so nicely with Lucky Limeade, Soft Suede, and–one of my favorites–Pool Party.  I used a lot of Soft Suede and Very Vanilla as my neutrals to give some balance–and even more softness–to this toned-down complimentary color scheme.

I’ve got a whole lot of digital embellishments here: three kinds of ribbon, three ribbon bows and knots, a brad exclusive to this Sale-A-Bration themed set, and some Soft Suede neutrals brads. The embellishing, along with the choice of dsp, gives a decidely feminine flair to what would be a totally masculine layout, if done in different colors.  EVERYTHING is a square on this card, except the embellishments and sentiment: The card itself was done as a 6″x6″ square card project, then each layer is either a card stock choice, or a “piece” of dsp cropped with the square “punch” on the MDS program.  Even the sentiment–for all it’s soft curleycue vintage goodness–has a frame in a generally squared shape.

Okay, I have to admit I likely could have handmade this card from “real” paper and ink in about the same amount of time it took to create it in MDS. But that’s because I kept changing my mind, wanted to try out some different possibilities, etc. And it goes MUCH more quickly to do all that digitally than with the “real” stuff–and it’s a LOT less messy! And I could have also printed out the paper/stamp elements here and put it together “for real” and made a hybrid card by adding real ribbon and brads. Either way, I’d love the card, but it’s really nice having all these options at my fingertips!

Thanks for visiting my Little Corner today!

Leave a Reply

