Digital Birthday Nachos…um…Doilies!

NAC19Happy (digital) Birthday again! The month of November is just jammed full of family and friend birthdays for me, so I never run out of NON Fall and Winter Holiday cards to work on; boredom will never be an option in my papercrafting endeavors!

I found my digital design inspiration at Nacho Average Challenges this week.  This sketch was intriguing and far outside my normal design parameters.  I decided to rotate it to offer a horizontal version, making it easier for me to translate into elements I could work with.

When I did, the shapes just made it a no-brainer to reach for some doilies–both stamps and paper–via the lovely and crafty MDS.  I pulled in a couple other stamp elements to finish it off:

Paper: All from Flirtatious.  The Circle and Scallop Circle Punches were used to create the focal shapes, and were filled in with selections from the same DSP.

Stamps:  Delicate Doilies (behind the sentiment); Elementary Elegance (butterfly); Enjoy Every Moment (dotted circles);  Under the Big Top (sentiment).

Accessories: Only one embellishment here–the small circle on the butterfly is from the Summer Happiness (Designer Kit) embellishments set.

I also made a couple pages of “stuff to print” from this design:

 

 

 

 

 

I’m going to print these pieces out and make this same card–as similar as possible–the “old-fashioned-way”, too.  That’s the great thing about SU’s digital design program–you can go all digital, hybrid, or print out your elements and use each as you would traditionally.  I know when I put this together, I’ll be adding some more traditional “bling” elements–either some pearls or buttons, whatever yells at me to add the perfect finishing touch.  And then I’ll have both a digital greeting I can send, AND a handmade card that I can deliver to a dear friend when we gather for her birthday in a few days….I hope she’s in the mood for “frilly”!

Thanks for visiting my Little Corner today! –Terri

3 thoughts on “Digital Birthday Nachos…um…Doilies!

Leave a Reply

