A Freshly Royal Masculine Birthday

Another November day, another birthday card needed. Today just happens to be my brother’s birthday, so I designed him a fall-ish, masculine, upbeat card, thanks to two design challenges this week.

I love it when I can find inspiration for exactly what I need when I need the perfect card.

The sketch at Freshly Made Sketches provided my layout. I’ve been wanting to make a “wreath” out of the many fall foliage stamps and stamp brush sets SU offers, and this sketch gave the perfect opportunity. I added layers and layers of leaves and pine cones to create  Autumn-splendorous sprays around the circular base.

My color palette was provided by Stampin’ Royalty‘s lovely fall-inspired selection this week. The perfect warm and comfy-cozy colors to evoke just the right feeling of wanting to kick back in front of a fireplace and enjoy the smell of pine cones crackling in the fire…and hot chocolate to go with a bit of pumpkin pie.  Hmmm, maybe in this case we better make it some coffee and birthday cake!

For my card, I used the leaves, branches, and pine cones found in the Autumn Traditions Digital Kit.  The sentiment is from Elementary Elegance (love that font!). I added some digi-buttons and grosgrain knots, and some texture to the base cardstock with an overlay. This took a while to create, even digitally, because I really played and played with the arrangement of the leaves and pine cones.  Making a wreath takes time–even if it’s on paper or on a computer screen!

Happy birthday to my wonderful brother…and thanks for visiting my Little Corner today! –Terri

4 thoughts on “A Freshly Royal Masculine Birthday

  1. Wow! It’s so hard to believe that this is a digitally created card! Awesome design and perfect colors for a fab masculine birthday card. Very well done! Thanks for sharing with us this week at Freshly Made Sketches!

Leave a Reply

