IBN-DC006–Catching up on some Scrapbooking

I was a scrapbooker before I ever learned about Stampin’ Up or discovered the wonderful world of cardmaking. I started my scrapbooking career at the ripe old age of about twelve, when I bought my first keepsake book, and started adding photos, memorabilia, and lots and lots of journaling to the pages inside. It was like a magical way of organizing and displaying all the things that meant so much to me.  As I got older, I became both the unofficial photographer AND the official “keeper of the family photographs” and have been for over forty years now. I’ve got a LOT of memories in the form of old, really old, and some new stuff to get scrapbooked.  My discovery of digital scrapbooking was a ‘eureka!’ moment; my discovery of SU’s digital software was even moreso. Being able to put all the SU arsenal of crafty-goodness together with my treasured photos is OH-so-very-nice!  In the scrap-layout above, I’ve showcased a very special photo of a niece and her daughter. The photograph was snapped by another niece, which makes it even more special. I framed their sweet faces with every possible element on the page.

This page was inspired by the digi-challenge sketch at Impressions by Nicole.  Kris and Nicole’s joint effort as design team for this digital-design-only challenge is exactly why I re-loaded the original MDS on this old computer I’m using temporarily. I just HAD to play along when two of my Pals (Mary Fish’s Stampin’ Pretty Pals group) started offering this fun opportunity to flex our design skills in the virtual world of creativity.

This week’s sketch may end up as a card design starting point for me, too–it’s very versatile. I “adjusted” it a bit to work with my photo and how I wanted it framed: I moved the three circles above the large square (in the sketch design) to be three black brads below the sentiment on the smaller square on my scrap-page. This allowed me to use that gynormous frame around my photo.

Digital elements used are:

  • Stamps (all design elements): Frame from Elementary Elegance; Filigree element above sentiment from Frames With a Flourish.  (The sentiment was added with the ‘text’ tool in MDS.)
  • Papers: Basic Black Script; Timeless Portrait; Cherry Cobbler and Very Vanilla cardstock.
  • Embellishments: Basic Black Brads (in two sizes); Very Vanilla Grosgrain Ribbon Knots.

Very few elements–very simple and a very elegant finished page. My two favorite K’s will love this.

Thanks for visiting my Little Corner today! –Terri

Leave a Reply

