iSpy some Digital Design

Happy day after Turkey-Day! I’m much more stuffed than the poor bird was, and have spent the entire day doing nothing that involved activity beyond sitting in my computer chair. I’m NOT one for the craziness that is “Black Friday” in the retail world. Much more fun to sit here and play with My Digital Studio. I’ve gone a bit crazy playing with a couple of challenges today. This card was inspired by both challenges:

I’ve just recently found this challenge site, and like this simple sketch they’ve offered this week.  iSpySketches doesn’t technically include digital design as an option in the things we can participate with, but I wanted to use the sketch anyway! This classic design will offer many possibilities for playing with actual paper and ink before the holidays are over, too, I’m sure.  Meanwhile, I enjoyed using it to give shape to my first attempt using the colors prompted by IBN.

I know that my project is applicable to the challenge at Impressions by Nicole. Nicole and Kris started up a digital-design only that’s keeping me crafting even on days when I can’t play with actual paper…a very good thing to always get to be creative!  This week’s challenge is a color scheme offering….and I’ve actually used it as my inspiration to create FOUR different cards and a scrapbook page! The color combo is NOT one that I would consider myself comfortable with, so I was absolutely determined to work with it a lot, to really stretch my creative and design muscles a bit. Bold color combos that include that dreaded Summer Starfruit scare me, but I gave it my best shot!

Here are my three other cards created using this color combo.  All four of these cards have minimal embellishments, relying on only brads and some grosgrain ribbon knots here and there.

I think this one is my favorite. It sort of visually expresses the difference in the mind between dreaming and wakefulness. I believe it’s in our dreams where we find much inspiration for our creative processes.

As with my first card, I used a bunch of stamps and punches to create this.

Stamps:  My Friend, Twitterpated, Torn Edges. 

Punches: Circle, Scallop Circle, Modern Label, Scallop Border. 

Papers: Other than the cardstock colors based on the challenge, the only digi-paper used was a piece from the Timeless Portrait set.

My other two cards use stamps from the Merry & Type, Snow Burst, and Daring Adventure sets.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

These two show the variety of types of cards can be made using the same colors. From something inspirational…to traditional Christmas designs rendered in very non-traditional colors.

Which brings me to my scrapbooking page made using the inspiration colors from the challenge. Actually, I took my whole page idea from Kris’s lovely snow page. She has WAY more snow to showcase in her scrap layout, but here in the South, this really was a lot of snow at the time!

Once again, I’m thrilled to have digital designing at my fingertips to finally get some photos put together into some scrapbook pages! MDS rocks!

–Thanks for visiting my Little Corner today! –Terri

One thought on “iSpy some Digital Design

Leave a Reply

