A new digital playground…

Thanks to the wonderful Pals chat group, I learned about the new digital challenge blog at MDS Monday.  And I managed to get two projects completed to play along in their premiere challenge!

My first entry, above, is one of my favorite photos of my great-niece and great-nephew. (Yes, sadly, I’m just now getting around to scrapbooking stuff from 4 years ago!   This is part of why I love digital designing and MDS–finally getting these projects done!)

MDS Monday‘s first challenge is this very nice, very *ahem* challenging sketch.  I’m still learning all the ins and outs of digital design, still working with the original MDS, and still accumulating downloads with all kinds of goodies with which to play.  One thing I did NOT have was a…banner! So I had to figure out how to make a banner out of a rectangular piece of DSP (added as a page layer). I’ll be reading up on the easiest way to do this in the next few days…but for the time being, I made the flagged edges on my banners the “traditional, real-paper” way–I used a square punch, turned at a 45-degree angle, and then filled the punch with the same color as the background cardstock. Worked like a charm–but I’m anxious to find out how many times I’m going to have to say “duh-uh” to myself when I discover any other “normal” digital ways of doing this!  Nothing like learning new things!

This second page was created for a friend–newly a grandmother last year–using the same sketch.  This time, I used like 90 million pieces of ribbon and trim….BUT I changed up and, instead of using the three banner shapes, I instead chose to dangle three little ornaments under the feature photo.  I also did a mirror-image arrangement. On this one, I created my “background paper” using another image of this sweet baby, changed to black-and-white, and then decreased the opacity of the photo to about 30% of the original. This afforded me the opportunity to include an additional photo on the page, while remaining true to the layout of the sketch. This opacity trick was the same one I used to add the Christmas tree stamp to the background page on my first layout above (the one with the wild bongo-kids).

Both pages include a mixture of many stamps, papers, and embellishments from the Merry and Type, Christmas Lodge, Snowburst, and Tree Trimmings stamps; Frostwood Lodge and Letters to Santa designer series papers; and embellishments from all those sets.  I used the “Add Text” feature of MDS to do all the journaling.

I’m really loving the fact that MDS lets me really get to work on all the years and years of photos I’ve accumulated that I want to commit to a scrapbooked album.  And I’m thrilled to find another site dedicated to inspiring and challenging those of us who need some prodding to “git ‘er dun”!

–Thanks for visiting my Little Corner today! –Terri

4 thoughts on “A new digital playground…

  1. These are just gorgeous pages! I’m so glad to challenge you to find ways to get the shape you want with MDS. The subtle Christmas tree is a great addition to your first page! Thanks for playing along with MDS Monday this week.

  2. These are both wonderful pages, and I’m so glad to see you playing along with us – this is why we created this challenge blog, to learn new things from each other! 🙂 I have the flag punch, so I’ve never made a flag with a square punch on MDS! Hope to see you again at MDS Monday!

  3. Both of these are fabulous pages, Terri. I love the tree in the background on your first page and the little “shooting star” in the corner. I’m glad you played along with us at MDS Monday for our first challenge. Hope you join us again soon.

  4. These are both great layouts.. I love how you added the tree on your first one and the splatter effect is the perfect toch! What cute face in that second one. Thanks for joining us at MDS Monday.

Leave a Reply

