A heartfelt Christmas

Heartfelt Christmas

This was my last Christmas card of the season, but I didn’t want to post this til I felt sure it was in the hands of the intended recipient, a fellow SU demonstrator.  When I say this was the last Christmas card, I really mean it. I had it “almost finished” for probably 2 weeks, but I kept forgetting to print out the verse for the inside while I was at my one available printer. I FINALLY got it all put together and mailed….and had to just hope it got there on time, amid the overly-zealous padding and overly-sized envelope I sent it in.  I tend to be an over(ly)-achiever in both wrapping Christmas presents…and wrapping up things I mail–especially cards.

The recipient of the card is well known for NOT liking glittery messes.  So I wanted to make him a very NON-shiny card.  But I have trouble doing clean and simple, so I opted to go with ‘vintage’ as a compromise.

Heart of Christmas22

SU Items used were:

  • Paper:  Cherry Cobbler and Early Espresso Core-dinations Card Stock (each one distressed just a smoonch).  A piece of DSP from the (retired) Deck the Halls (but a selection from the Candlelight Christmas Specialty DSP or the Festival of Prints DSP stack would have worked well here, too. I just used what I had that yelled at me loudest to use it!) 
  • Ink:  Cherry Cobbler and Early Espresso (to sponge the edges of the sentiment).
  • Stamp:  Heart of Christmas
  • Tools and Accessories: Apothecary Accents and the Labels Collection Framelits showcase the sentiment; the Adorning Accents Edgelit created the great shape of the front of the card; and a couple of small brads add the minimal (which tends to be more masculine) finishing touch.

Kinda doubt it arrived BEFORE Christmas, but I’m hoping the inside sentiment was appreciated whenever it arrived.  Here’s the poem I penned for my fellow crafter:

No glitter to litter your table and chair;

No glimmer to shimmer your eyelashes and hair.

No extra sparkle is required for you,

For the light in your heart always shines through.

Corny, I know, but with all the hilarious conversations the Pals have had about glitter this year, it seemed perfect.  And I couldn’t resist adding a final note to my little ditty, with a reference to one of the cutest Christmas-season commercials this year.  “Hope you have a ‘super-sparkly’ Christmas, without the mess!”  Don’t know if he saw that commercial or not, but it’s appropo, regardless!

I hope YOU had a super-sparkly Christmas–with or without glitter, whichever you prefer–and thanks for visiting my Little Corner today! –Terri

Leave a Reply

