Happy Birthday, Annie Ruth!

FMS90-TLCThe sketch challenge this week at Freshly Made Sketches was just the perfect inspiration I needed to complete a birthday card commissioned by my friend for her sweet mom. (Linda C challenged us to make a square card, but I had to go with a rectangle.)

FMS90-sketch

 

With its large center panel wide open for interpretation, I knew I could add the lovely Elegant Bird die cutout as the star of the card. Birds are among Miss Annie Ruth’s favorite creations and design choices, so it was the logical pick to fill her birthday with cheer. I think it helped that the dsp is called Cheerful Treat, too! Bold Concord Crush (retired, but available to print as needed via MDS!), bright Melon Mambo. and crisp Whisper White definitely spell happy.

FMS90-2

There’s very little in my card that isn’t retired SU. I didn’t plan it that way, but I enjoy getting to “use up” all my stash of lovely SU papers and helpful tools, and I just plain ole don’t get rid of anything, because I never know when I might find the perfect elements I need to complete a project. The large Melon Mambo button here retired, I don’t know–a couple seasons ago, I think!

FMS90-3-inside

I finished out the inside of the card with a poem my friend wanted to use, stamped a couple of little roses, and left a spot for her to sign. We had a discussion just today amongst the Pals chat group about how we finish the insides of our cards. I hadn’t really thought about it before the conversation, but I guess mine are finished….or unfinished…as the need/purpose of the card dictates. It was nice to have a specific, requested sentiment to work with here, so I know it’s exactly what my friend wants to say. I echoed the papers from the outside of the card here as well.

I did manage to use the current–and also uber-perfect–Bird Builder Punch to adorn the envelope. If I wanted to make this card with all current product, I could use a couple of these sweet birds on my card front, to replace the Elegant Bird die piece. I think I’d use the luscious Venetian Romance DSP, too.  hmmm….I might just do that when time allows!

–Thanks for visiting my Little Corner today! –Terri

3 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Annie Ruth!

Leave a Reply

