A Pinktober Wreath

October blog header

A couple of years ago, two of my closest friends-forever were diagnosed with breast cancer, at almost the same time. In fact, it was the one friend’s preliminary questionable mammogram that prompted the other to go for her far-past-due test. Thankfully, both of them came through their ordeals on the winning side and are both cancer-free today. And though neither of them wants to define their lives by cancer, what they went through matters on so many levels–and should never be forgotten or minimalized. Since my mother DIED from breast cancer 24 years ago, it really matters to me to know that these dear ones are alive and well now.

I’ve worked actively in Relay for Life for the past several years, and while I know the primary focus is not just on breast cancer, it doesn’t keep me from spending the month of October highlighting a cause fighting a disease that has impacted so many that I love. Once again this year, I will do as much as I can for “Pinktober”, with awareness posts on my personal facebook page, and making projects to convey what pink means to me now.

Wreath -pink

My pink paper wreath–a gift for one of my Survivor-friends–was made with every stinkin-pink shade of paper I had on hand–cardstock, SU dsp, old and donated stashes of patterned paper–I went through it all! I pulled in some bits of other colors to give some dimension, but basically this baby is pink-tastical.  I cut a nicely-flat wreath base out of cardboard-box material and even wrapped IT in pink papers, layer-upon-layer to give it a finished look front and back. That was over-wrapped with some wide pink tulle ribbon, and then the die-cutting began.

I used the current SU Autumn Accents Bigz Die and the other fall-leaf retired one to put down a pink-leaf background. About 200 leaves later (each of which were vein-scored and curled with my bone folder), I started adding on varying flowers–all made with a fairly-recently retired floral bigz die. (Flower Frenzy Bigz L Die is on my to-buy list for this coming spring…gotta pace myself on craft-purchases somewhere!!)

Pink Wreath-2

I decided to stick with paper for my bow, and crafted one with the Gift Bow Bigz L Die (which was one of those dies I couldn’t imagine actually needing until I saw all the wonderful things I can make with it!) from the very last piece of one of my all-time favorite SU papers–Candy Lane. (I may have to go visit the Project Sandbox and request this one be added to the digital papers offered!)

Pink Wreath 3

I finished everything off by randomly adding on some brads, buttons, and pearls, and a bit of tulle here and there.

Wow, looking at this close-up here, I’m really glad I spent the time “veining” all those leaves. A labor of love–and I’m happier with the finished product this way!

Being a girlie-girl, I’ve always loved the color pink–now it just has a whole new dimension. I hope my Pinktober projects inspire both hope and awareness.  And thanks for visiting my Little Corner today!

Leave a Reply

