Celebrating 77

BC18 Pink Drawers

My mother would have been 77 years old today, but instead, she died at the age of 52. I hate the disease that killed her, and it’s part of the reason that I dedicate the whole month of October to driving people crazy with “pink”.  Over the last few crafting years, I’ve created various pink-ribbon projects of one sort or other, and posted several here.  This one is from a couple years ago, and sums up my mother very nicely:

BC31-001

I hate that she can’t “watch me play” with all my papercrafting toys and see how I’ve embraced this latest realm in the crafting world. She considered herself all thumbs with everything, but would sit and watch me sew for hours as we brainstormed–and I created–all kinds of goodies for her granddaughters (my nieces) when they came along. But what I really hate is that she didn’t get to see those girls grow up and meet their children. Not to mention all the other things she’s missed–that I’ve missed sharing with her. So many people say that their mother is/was their best friend. Mine truly was, and I miss my friend just as much as I do my mom. Twenty-four years later, I still can’t type these words without stopping to wipe tears away.

She taught me to be the best that *I* can be and not to compare myself to anyone else. I’ve failed miserably at that quite often–but I still hear her words admonishing me that it doesn’t matter how anyone else does anything–that only I can bring to the world what God gave ME to share. She thought she had “no talents”–but her talent was people, and the people of this world (at least, the part of it she blessed with her presence) lost a great advocate when she left it.

She was a complicated woman, who had a very serious side down deep, and she’d fuss at me big-time if I didn’t point out the obvious–she was not perfect and had her faults and foibles like everyone–none of which changed just because she died and I miss her. This, in fact, is one of the the traits I got from her–the ability to see the good and the bad in people, and love them anyway. But Mom preferred–always–to smile and laugh and look at the bright side of things, and that’s the choice I still go with most of the time. And why I choose to believe that, even if just one person reads this and it makes them go get a breast check-up, then she won’t have died in vain.

Mom luminary 2012

I can’t bring her back, but I can keep her alive in my recollections… and honor her memory by sharing some of what I learned from her–

  • minding your manners and being kind is always the best way to go;
  • every day matters;
  • every holiday should be celebrated and treasured;
  • family–whether by birth or choice–is everything;
  • always be the best “you” that you can be.

Here’s to the best Mom-and-friend anyone could be. And I will say, in a very kind, mannerly way–thanks for visiting my Little Corner today!

Leave a Reply

