Inspired by Hope

Keep Calm and Fight OnWhen I discovered Pinterest a couple of years ago, I thought I’d died and gone to Heaven.  I go down so many rabbit holes online at times, I had probably 30 million bookmarks of pages I wanted to remember. Well, that’s a slight exaggeration, but not really much of one. Pinterest now provides me with a much more easily categorized and retrieved VISUAL way of accessing all the things I want to remember for future use–all the wonderful bits of fun and decorating ideas and inspiration I find all over the internet.

Case in point: the lovely card here, a pink ribbon project dedicated to the memory of the crafter’s sister. Her card was such a poignant inspiration to me, because I think of my mother, who died from breast cancer in 1990, every time I see a butterfly. Since Mom loved a more “cluttered” style–and passed that and the love for everything vintage onto me–my card version is a lot less clean and simple:

BCA Ribbon of Hope

Although the colors didn’t photograph “true”, I’ve got Melon Mambo, Blushing Bride, and Pink Pirouette all over these Papillon Potpourri butterflies–some of which were stamped directly to the card, and others punched out with the Bitty Butterfly Punch and popped up to add some dimension and a sense of “flight”–a very important component of my inspiration card. One big Elegant Butterfly-punched image is used with the sentiment from Blooming with Kindness, which has been framed by a couple of the shapes from the Apothecary Accents Framelits–one of them modified by cutting the right tab off so it would be flush with the edge.  I’ve added some Rhinestone Basics Jewels to add a bit of sparkle to this explosion of pink wings.

To me “hope takes wing” with this card and reminds me of good memories of my mother–and that I’ve got two dear friends who fought this awful disease and won. Keep calm and fight on….and thanks for visiting my Little Corner Today!

Leave a Reply

