Everything Old is New Again

It feels like forever since I last uploaded a project and wrote a post! I’ve had tons going on in other areas of my life, and a lot of it has been crafty-stuff, but I just haven’t had the time or opportunity to play along with any challenges lately.  I made an exception this weekend–just in time to complete a couple of needed birthday cards….and to join in on a new challenge at Retro Rubber. Since I’m a hobby-stamper, I’m thrilled with this “new” concept that “oldies are goodies”!  (Hey, we non-spring-chickens need to support each other!)

Retro Rubber Bday  TLC

In keeping with the retro/old concept, I went really vintage with my card. Lots of distressing, sanding, inking, spotting with the not-so-old Gorgeous Grunge stamp set, a run through with the also-old Vintage Wallpaper Embossing Folder, and there’s also another old SU stamp on here (the “punkin” from Harvest Home, which I still love). But there are some new touches on here, too–the candy dots and the wonderful little wooden leaf accents and a piece from the fall dsp in this year’s holiday catty.

This card fits the “use your oldest stamp” challenge in a couple of ways. First, it includes my Lovely as a Tree part of the image as a portion of the background. My Lovely stamp set was in the first batch of stamps I purchased when I discovered SU about 6 years ago, when my stepdaughter did a short stint as a Stampin’ UP! demo and managed to infect me with the stamping bug in a big way.  Thankfully, since it’s STILL current (and I’ll never part with it even when it’s not!) this stamp set proves that some things DO get better with age…I’m hoping that translates itself to both my stamping AND my everyday life.

Happy Birthday stamp

However, that’s not the oldest stamp on this card.  The “Happy Birthday” sentiment is part of an SU! set that was given to me by a dear friend when she cleaned out her crafts closet a couple years ago. Her kind gift included a bunch of consumable goodies that I’ve long since used up for various Relay for Life activities (her reason for the donation), but there were several really good SU stamp sets in there, and I’ve had a ball using every one of them on lots of different projects. I have no idea of the name of the set, but in it there are several more lovely script sentiments similar to this one…and the decal on the stamp says it’s Stampin’ UP!–copyright 1999!  And THIS proves that timeless beauty really does transcend the years!

I’m very much looking forward to the next Retro Rubber challenge–it’s fun to get inky again! Thanks for visiting my Little Corner today!

10 thoughts on “Everything Old is New Again

  1. Terri, your card is a wonderful combination of timeless vintage with current touches. I loved it when SU had the dates on their stamps. But what I love most about your card is that you added the “lovely” image to be part of the “harvest home” scene… way cool. Looking forward to seeing you play with us in future challenges. You certainly rocked this one!!

  2. Fantastic card, and knowing the history of the stamps involved makes it even more special. Wonderful executed with color and design! Thank you for joining us at Retro Rubber.

  3. Wow, Terri, this is magnificent! Love love love it. You are so talented… Can you share a little of what “runneth over” with me?

  4. Terri, you really knocked this card outta the park! I love every loving detail that you put into it! You definitely need to play again soon so you can play with the rest of those wonderful stamps you received. Thanks for playing with us at Retro Rubber Challenge Blog!!

  5. Fantastic! I think this card is so beautiful – the distress, the sentiment, the embellies – wow! Thank you for playing along with us! I especially appreciate it since you made a point to play along! See you at the next challenge!

  6. Terri, you used so many stamp sets on this card and they all go so nicely together. I also have this sentiment stamp set and will never part with it 🙂 I use it all the time! I love your card!

  7. Love retro. Bring out those oldie ,but goodies.I just discovered your blog. Please do keep posting. Enjoyed reading/looking at your achieves.

Leave a Reply

