…and some Shiny Christmas Wishes

Shiny Christmas Wishes-2

Okay, yes, Christmas IS over for 2014. But, partly because I’m just now having time to play with paper again, and partly because I pretty much work on Christmas stuff all year long anyway, I’ve got another one for a couple of challenges.

nac121

NAC121 from Nacho Average Challenges has been added to my permanent list of favorite sketches. Both exactly as it stands–and then also flipped, rotated, whatever.–it’s sheer perfection for accomplishing just about any kind of layout.  I chose to do a mirror-image version of the sketch this time…and to use it on a non-card item. I couldn’t find anything in the challenge rules to exclude a 3-D project, so here goes with entry #2. (And, while I’ve created a wall-hanging here, the exact same items, from the layer of silver with embossed snowflakes on up, could easily be a card front.)

This was another project hard to photograph, due to all the shininess–this time added to by the glare from the glass of the photo frame. I like to add paper and fabric embellishments to the OUTSIDE of a glassed print–or, as in this case, an empty, matted frame–it creates more layers that way.  Since I’m so very much NOT a CAS girl, this works well for my style…is “many-layered and cluttered” a design style?

Shiny Christmas Wishes

This one also qualifies for the ‘Tis The Season challenge 32 with all that bling! Seems that when I start with a “theme”, I run with it til I’m either out of that supply or time.

tts32For the paper contributions here, I used some Silver CS embossed with snowflakes from the Northern Flurry EF, some red metallic CS embossed with the Stylish Stripes EF, and once again reached for my Silver Stampin’ Emboss Powder to stamp the lovely dove and sentiment from the retired Gifts of Christmas set onto some Basic Gray CS. I also added some shiny red snowflakes from an old punch. I love this silver, gray, red, and white color scheme, offset and enclosed within the white-matted, black frame.

I didn’t stop with paper. I had cut out several snowflakes from silver roof flashing awhile back, with the sadly-now-retired Snow Flurry Bigz Die, and this one leftover yelled at me to include him on the frame (attached with Glue Dots).  And ribbon–HAVE to add ribbon at Christmastime! I reached for more of my leftover-from-a-Paper-Pumpkin-kit shiny white and added in some more of the Silver 1/8″ Ribbon atop it. Of course, I also had to add in a blingy embellishment atop the bow. It’s a Frosted Finishes piece from the 2013 Holiday catty. Wish I had more of these guys!

So I think I may be done with Terri’s shiny Chrismas stuff for awhile. Back to the real world of work tomorrow after a lovely extended Christmas vacation. Thanks for visiting my Little Corner Today!

 

7 thoughts on “…and some Shiny Christmas Wishes

  1. Love the roof flashing snowflake. That is one of my all-time favorite uses for the Big Shot-cutting aluminum cans and roof flashing. Love the color combo too!

  2. I love the frame and your take on the picture challenge! The layers and embossing are very cool, and I also love the 3D components of the frame. Nice work!

Leave a Reply

