Shiny Dasher

Retro Dasher-2

Here it is a couple days after Christmas and I’m still wanting to play with Christmas goodies.  That’s the beauty of a couple of the challenge sites–they encourage a Christmas/holiday card all year long.  I missed a lot of card-making time last year, but hope to really work on my Christmas card stash throughout 2015. (And then maybe I’ll actually have plenty of cards to send for a change!)

Anyway, my card today works with not one, not two, but THREE fabulous challenges. First, the whole thing revolves around Retro Rubber, because I’m *ahem* required to use my old stamps (that I hang onto for dear life!!). Challenge #rrbc04 is a color challenge

rrbc04

that just screams Christmas to me anyway, and I immediately thought of my Dasher stamp. He is definitely a most dashing little fellow, and I’ve always liked him best done with Silver Embossing Powder on any deep shade of blue.  Since I not only hoard hang onto my old stamps, but also every scrap of paper I’ve ever purchased, I’ve still got a bunch of SU’s old shades of blue (my favorite color!)…just waiting for these opportunities. So, Dasher dashed a silver streak across a scrap of Brilliant Blue CS to get me started.  For good measure, I grabbed a scrap of Midnight Muse CS to make the banner that sits under the Dasher layer. Hey, #rrbc04 called for blue–no specifics–so I took this opportunity to go boldly blue. The rich, dark MM blue showed up so nicely with the Whisper White CS background, and gave a needed depth to all that crazy amount of silver I went wild with.

You will note my difficulty in properly photographing my dashing reindeer. With all this bling going on, catching the shine and the colors without washing it all out with photo-editing efforts was near to impossible.  I did my best to let the little guy shine, though.Retro Dasher-3

Which brings me to challenge number two involved here.  ‘Tis The Season, TTS32, is an inspiration challenge, from which I took away the major desire to use a LOT of bling and snowflakes.

tts32

 

 

 

 

I added some Frosted Sequins and glittery Silver 1/8″ Ribbon atop the shiny white (a leftover from a Paper Pumpkin kit!). And, after running that WW CS through the Big Shot with the most wonderful Northern Flurry Embossing Folder, I added some glittery glitz, first with silver and then with diamonds. Dasher is about as sparkly as one reindeer can be!

nac121

Retro Dasher

So I needed something to give some shape and direction to my plethora (LOVE that word!) of blingy-bits, to help them properly showcase handsome Mr. Dasher.  This brought me to the sketch challenge 121 at Nacho Average Challenges. This is a really fabulous, simple, but incredibly versatile sketch to work with.  (I like it so much, I ended up making a couple different projects using it before I was done crafting for the day.) On this particular card, I had to move the smaller rectangle over directly onto the banner, to make Mr. D “fit” better, and to allow the snowflakes to show up more.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So, my finished product is a hard-to-photograph, silvery, sparkly, shiny, retro, dashing, blingy-thing that took a very CAS card layout and made it anything BUT.  I have a problem leaving white space alone…at least with the fun of Retro Rubber, I don’t have to leave my old stamps alone anymore!

–Thanks for visiting my Little Corner today!

17 thoughts on “Shiny Dasher

  1. Terri, what a fun Christmas card! I’m loving all the bling, shimmer and shine going on. I feel your pain trying to get a decent pic with all that going on because I’ve tried to do it myself! lol Seems like you managed it though. 🙂 Thanks for playing with us at ‘Tis the Season.
    Sara

  2. Just love that Retro Rubber Challenge blog inspired this sparkly beautiful creation! What a great combination of challenges. I too (ahem) hoard so many things and love it when creativity ties them all together. Thank you for joining us at RRCB! Neva from the DT

  3. Terri, this card is wonderful! First, Dasher is my favorite reindeer, at least till SU makes one of Rudolph. Second, I absolutely love all the bling on this card. This card will surely be CASEd for more of your holidays cards next year, right? You combined the challenges perfectly and your color choices were so pretty. Thanks for joining Retro Rubber and hope you will play along again soon!

  4. Your card is absolutely GORGEOUS, Terri and I will be pinning this for next year’s inspiration!! And the RRBC team appreciates the shoutout that you gave to the Pretty Pals to play along! Looking forward to seeing more of your A-M-A-Z-I-N-G projects at RRBC!! Happy New Year!!

  5. Love all the bling, shimmer and snowflakes you have on this card! This beauty really stands out!!

    Thanks so much for playing along with us at ‘Tis The Season!

Leave a Reply

