Terri’s Shiny New Year

Happy New Year 2015-1Happy New Year 2015! 

2014 was a kind of rough year for me, health-wise, so I’m glad to be rolling over a new year with new hopes and (of course) resolutions to get myself back into shape and take better care of myself mentally and physically. One way for ME to do that is by allowing myself to do more of the things I love…like crafting. My best “therapy” is generally wrapped up somehow with a pair of scissors. So I stayed home and nursed a bit of a cold…and listened to some good music and the neighbors’ fireworks…and played with shiny paper!

Happy New Year 2015

Lots and LOTS of shiny paper!!

HSS Challenge HSSIC202

This golden-champagne-glimmerfest was inspired by the Hand Stamped Sentiments Blog’s HSSIC202, which offered up a very glittery inspiration photo with a New Year’s theme. No problem with the glittery glow going on here! I’ve got shiny 5/8″ Gold Satin Ribbon, Gold Stampin’ Emboss Powder on the 2009 SU A Brand New Year stamp, the Gold Fancy Foil Vellum, and Glimmer Paper–which I chose to do in the Champagne color, instead of gold, because…well because it’s New Year’s, and a little champagne was in order! I punched out some stars and some “champagne bubbles” circles to scatter about, just in case it wasn’t shiny enough already. Just about went blind from the glare trying to photograph this thing, so I think I may have succeeded in the shiny department! I’m pretty sure I chose the Basic Black Card Stock for my card base just so my eyes would have someplace to rest while I put this together!

Happy New Year 2015-2

I didn’t stop with “just” a shiny card. I chose to mount my card on top of another piece of the gold vellum (more champagne bubbles here for sure!)…which I attached to the front of an antiqued-gold-framed square mirror that I’ve had sitting around as a project starter for a good while now. This idea is thanks to a random comment from a friend, which encouraged me to “frame my works of heart”.  And I’ve done it in such a way that I can change it out each month (or holiday or occasion) to suit my time and tastes-at-the-moment.

I’m going to keep this framed piece in my office/crafting space as a very bright reminder of all the inspiration and opportunities around me. For me, this is a 3-D representation of the perfect way to start out my shiny new year.  This is a year that I pray is filled–for all of us– with many blessings, much joy, and many more inspired moments of love, beauty, laughter, GOOD health…and the overarching gratitude for all this wondrous glow! Thanks for visiting my Little Corner today!

8 thoughts on “Terri’s Shiny New Year

  1. Very Pretty!!! Great work on all the sparkles- Love it!! Makes the perfect framed piece of art!!!
    Thanks for playing along with HSS, Diane

  2. I love your glimmering inspiration art! Everything works so well together – I love the extra circles and stars, the vellum background, and how you have framed it all to inspire you all year. I hope that 2015 will be a wonderful year for you – good health and happy crafting! Thanks for playing at HSS! Erika

  3. So, so pretty! I love all of the gold sparkle and shimmer…perfect for the New Year! Thanks for playing along with us at HSS!

  4. Congratulations Terri!

    You have been selected as a Hand Stamped Sentiments Artist Pick for your design in our inspiration challenge! You have earned the HSS Artist Pick Badge to display on your blog.
    Email me to obtain the html code or you can grab the button from our blog.

    Thank you for playing at Hand Stamped Sentiments this week!

    Come play again!
    Genevieve
    HSS Design Team

  5. Pingback: Feb 2016 Magic Mirror Love | TLC–Terri's Little Corner of the world

Leave a Reply

