A Freshly Made Thank You

Golden Thank You

I’m one of those people who is extremely blessed with wonderful friends. While each one’s personality, tastes, and even lifestyle are about as different as possible from the others, they all have at least one thing in common: tremendous generosity. Whether with their time, with their resources, or with their open arms, homes, and hearts, they are all absolutely “golden” in their goodness.  I think that’s why–even though I promised myself to step away from the hard-to-photograph shiny-stuff for awhile–I still chose to feature a lot of glitzy-gold in the thank you card I put together for one of these dear ladies.

Golden Thank You-1Photography issues aside, I’m very happy with my card, which I put together based on the this week’s challenge at Freshly Made Sketches.  FMS167FMS167 showcases several of the lovely pieces from the Gold Soiree Specialty DSP, and they, in turn, dictated the direction for the rest of the project.  Gold Fancy Foil Vellum and Garden Green CS (run through the Big Shot with the yummy Lovely Lace Embossing Folder), and all on a Whisper White base, round out the paper choices. The vellum took a lesser role here as a just-enough-gold-peeking-out as a background for the DSP (which I adore). I chose the retired So Very Grateful floral design, done up in Gold Stampin’ Emboss Powder–and no words–to grace the card front, along with an image from Papillon Potpourri handled the same way, and cut with the Elegant Butterfly Punch. The front is finished off with a smidge of the 5/8″ Gold Satin Ribbon tied in a simple knot, upon which that little flutterby is resting… quite elegantly.

Golden Thank You-inside

The inside of my card has its own share of embossing and more lovely DSP. I sort of mimicked the card front layout to add layers and interest here, too, and then used another image from So Very Grateful, this time including the “Thank You” sentiment from the same set. I used the white space left at the top of the opened card to write my personal message… which includes the fact that I AM….so very grateful for all this dear person has done for me lately!

Okay, so I know this is a VERY heavily-layered card (there are TEN layers, counting the embellishments!), Golden Thank You-3but I think I managed to keep it clean-lined, despite that fact. It’s a really good layout that could be “dirtied up” with a bunch of sponging and a half-dozen more embellishments …which I may end up doing at some point! But I guess for now, this IS simple for me! Perhaps I at least achieved “clean and layered” here?  Hah!

–Thanks for visiting my Little Corner today!

 

2 thoughts on “A Freshly Made Thank You

Leave a Reply

