Butterfly Blues

Swallowtail Blues-3

The “blues” aren’t a bad thing to me, since I love that style music…and the color. So my “butterfly blues” are intended to be an uplifting thing for a friend as this new year gets going in earnest. The utterly fabulous Swallowtail is the star of my unusual-for-me one-layer card front. He’s done up with Pool Party Stampin’ Emboss Powder on some Island Indigo CS and a bit of bling.

Swallowtail Blues-2

The bling’s in the form of some Rhinestone Basic Jewels in three different sizes (the little antenna ends are my favorite thing about the card!) and even the clear Vintage Faceted Button adds a bit of sparkle when it catches the light. I tied a sweetly luxurious bow with some retired Pool Party Seam Binding to add some really girly fanciness to it all–the current Soft Sky version of this ribbon would have worked well with my “blues theme” here, too.

The inside of my card keeps up the simple, soft feel of the front and I’ve chosen the perfect-for-the-new-year (and all the hopes and dreams –and resolutions– it brings) sentiment from Perfect Pennants to convey my Swallowtail Blues-Insidethoughts. Some Island Indigo– and Pool Party-inked Gorgeous Grunge images were added to the Pool Party CS message panel. There’s something about those “spots” images from the GG set that always make me think of tears and “time-stains” when I see them. Tears aren’t necessarily bad things–it just means we’ve lived long enough to have lots of memories that make our smiles turn a bit liquid-y now and then as we walk down memory-lane with fondness. Since my friend and I are both golden-girl-aged now, we’ve got a LOT of very lengthy memory-lanes to travel down!

Life really does NOT have to be perfect to be wonderful. As we all look forward to the new things this new year brings, it’s important to me to remember this, as I strive to enjoy every day to its utmost. Perfection will always elude us, but “merely” wonderful is always a possibility when we greet each day with hope and expectation!

–Thanks for visiting my Little Corner today!

 

Leave a Reply

