PPA235–A Gift of Winter Blues

PPA235-Winter Blues3

Okay, so usually the blues in winter isn’t exactly considered a “gift”. And usually by now I’m pretty fed up with cold weather–wait, I guess I AM fed up with it. However, I’m working on the whole attitude-of-gratitude thing and choosing to see all this cold yuckiness out there as an excuse to stay in the warm in here…and play with pretty paper goodies.

PPA235-Winter Blues

And the Pals’ Paper Arts PPA235 Color Challenge provided me with my very favorite colors to play with. Any shade of blue is PPA235on my “love” list, but Pool Party is my absolute favorite current SU color … and possibly EVER.  And it looks so lovely when combined with the deep Island Indigo and the sweet and very Soft Sky.

I really, seriously wanted to try to make a one-layered…or at least a two- to three- layered card, when I started out with my sponged, stamped panel. But it apparently just isn’t going to happen without some kind of anti-layering intervention. I’ve got another dozen or so going on again with this one, counting all the flower petals. But I had such fun putting it all together!

PPA235-Winter Blues2

I spent a lot of time sponging all these lovely blues to create backgrounds here, both in the main panel on front, and on the inside with some background flowers created using the negative of the punched petals as a template. I think my favorite part of this is the “extra” scalloped oval piece I got from cutting out the front panel. I used it on the interior of the card to carry my theme all the way through. Oh, and I got to make another yummy Pool Party Bow.                     Aren’t gifts always tied up with bows?


Here’s what I used:

  • Stamps:  Affection Collection (retired)–the “Always” sentiment; Gifts of Kindness–main panel flower and then my “gifts” sentiment on the inside. (What a lovely thought this one expresses!); Flower Shop; Petite Petals
  • Tools:  Ovals Collection Framelits, Pretty Print Embossing Folder (retired); Itty Bitty Accents Punch Pack, Corner Rounder, Scallop Oval, Large Oval, Extra-Large Oval, Pansy, and Petite Petals Punches
  • Embellishments: Pool Party 1/2″ Seam Binding (retired–I better buy up a bunch of the Soft Sky to make sure I don’t run out of my “blue fix” in this uber-luscious-to-work-with ribbon!); Pearl Basic Jewels

Here’s to hoping all my winter blues make me this happy–I got utterly wrapped up in making this, staying oblivious to the cold for hours while accomplishing something I love!        –Thanks for visiting my Little Corner today!

3 thoughts on “PPA235–A Gift of Winter Blues

  1. Beautiful card Terri! Anti-layering intervention ~ cute! I think your layers are wonderful, no need to stop 🙂 Thanks so much for joining us this week at Pals Paper Arts!

Leave a Reply

