Lovely Diamonds and Roses

rrbc06-2

In keeping with my New Year’s resolution to play with my paper goodies more in 2015, and inspired in part by the encouragement from Retro Rubber Challenge Blog to do so, I’m digging back through my stamps and supplies to create with some items that, in many cases, haven’t seen any crafting-time in a long time. A VERY long time, in one case here.

rrbc06-1

Amongst the huge stack of goodies a dear friend donated to me a couple years ago (to assist with some Relay for Life charitable projects) were quite a few truly retro Stampin’ UP! stamps. Since rosy hearts aren’t necessarily easy to work into projects for the Relay cancer-fighting cause, I knew then that I’d have to wait til I had a lot of time to play with paper–hopefully sometime around a Valentine’s Day in my not-too-distant future. So, fast forward two years later, and here I am finally finding–or rather, making— the time to thoroughly enjoy doing just that.

rrbc06-3I grabbed the fabulous rose-filled heart from the set (from 1998!!) from my friend, the “Love” sentiment from another set from 2012, and a bunch of tools and embellishments, both old and new. My Basic Black, Real Red, and Whisper White result is cleaner-lined and much bolder than my usual style, but is still crafted with lots of layers, some very-decidedly-girly touches, and a bit of the vintage vibe that makes my heart sing.


Here’s what I used:

  • Stamps: Kindness Shared (the heart, retired); Affection Collection (sentiment, retired). Both were inked in Versamark and heated up with White Stampin’ Emboss Powder to add more texture.
  • Tools: Fancy Fan Embossing Folder; Large Oval, Extra Large Oval, and Scallop Oval Punches; Ovals Collection Framelits. (I would really love to see if the Hearts Framelits will “fit” this heart image, but since I don’t have that set yet, I ended up fussy-cutting out my heart. Doing so immediately moved the purchase of those framelits to much higher on my never-ending “SU! to Buy” list!)
  • Embellishments:  1/4″ Real Red Grosgrain Ribbon (retired); Tea Lace Paper Doilies; Rhinestone Basic Jewels; and the silver blinged-out heart is an actual pendant–a remnant from an old collection of costume jewelry that I keep on hand for just this type of project. I’ve attached it to the card in such a way that it can be easily removed and be used as a necklace again, if desired. This card is earmarked for a niece who enjoys vintage goodies as much as her old aunt does, and she’ll particularly love that heart’s “diamonds”, since that’s her birthstone!

–Thanks for visiting my Little Corner today!

One thought on “Lovely Diamonds and Roses

  1. Pingback: A Collection of Affection for RRBC06 | TLC–Terri's Little Corner of the world

Leave a Reply

