Stretch with a Sketch

PPA236

I’m not a “Clean and Simple” kind of gal. Simple-minded maybe ( 😉 ), and I am a bit of a germaphobe, but in the papercrafting world, CAS and I generally don’t stay in the same room together for long. But I tried to stretch–at least a bit–with this card. No extra-inking, no voluptuous bows, nothing truly superfluous to the design.

PPA236-1

Pals’ Paper Arts provided the sketch for my stretch outside my comfort-zone PPA236 Sketchhere. I consider this a very CAS layout by the Pals’ Kerry.Bray, and I really wanted to play along with her debut design for PPA236, despite my CAS fears. Since I associate geometrics with CAS-style, I finally–yes, finally, after how long now??–put my Six-Sided Sampler Bundle to work. (Of course, in the back of my mind, I also knew this would let me use the embossing folder that coordinates, so that helped me get over my white-space phobia this time.)

I kept strictly to the basic sketch layout, but did add some height, depth, and a bit of piece-work matching up the punched hexes, giving me my PPA236-2much-loved vintage throwback–here to a quilt. The punched hexes are staggered up and down randomly with varying heights of dimensionals doing the trick. And I used ribbon to give some extra length to my little Banner punches.

My color scheme was inspired by the CAS-Colours and Sketches Blog’s #107 Challenge (hence, another reason to attempt the CAS stretch here). The combination cas 107of Cherry Cobbler, Basic Black, and Crumb Cake–with a tiny pop of white on the sentiment–is both clean and a bit retro at the same time. It made me remember a much-loved/much-used quilt my grandmother made that had similar colors, which of course further inspired the design here. This cold night could actually use another quilt right about now!


Here’s what I used:

  • Stamps:  Six-Sided Sampler, Banner Blast (retired)
  • Paper: Cherry Cobbler, Crumb Cake, Basic Black, and Whisper White Card Stock (not a speck of DSP this time!)
  • Ink:  Cherry Cobbler, Memento Tuxedo Black
  • Tools:  Honeycomb Embossing Folder; Hexagon and Banner Punches
  • Embellishments: Basic Black Candy Dots; Kraft (now Crumb Cake!) Taffeta Ribbon (retired), and a smoonch of the Cherry Cobbler Ribbon from the holiday catty (love that stuff and will use up every tiny tidbit somewhere!)

–Thanks for visiting my Little Corner today!

6 thoughts on “Stretch with a Sketch

  1. Great job, Terri, combining these two challenges together and providing an awesome card for us to ooooh and awwww! I have not used my hexagon stamp set in such a long time. For awhile it was the “go to” stamp for most stampers… kinda like the four feathers stamp set last fall. Love the quilt effect. My favorite details would have to be the bow and the candy dots… Thanks for including the PPA sketch challenge in your stamping fun this week!!

  2. Wonderful job with clean and simple, Terri! I love the dimension you created with your hexagons and the nod to the vintage quilt. Very pretty! Thank you so much for playing along with PPA this week! Hugs!

Leave a Reply

