A Collection of Affection for RRBC06

RRBC06-Friend

I’m very excited to be playing along with the very talented group at Retro Rubber Challenge Blog this time! Retro Rubber’s concept of encouraging us to re-engage with our old favorite stamps makes me smile every time I see the new challenge posted and the wonderful entries by the Design Team and followers alike.

RRBC06 (2)RRBC#06 Challenge is a really sweet sketch, and got my creative gears churning overtime. I knew exactly which stamp sets I wanted to use, and thought I wanted to go with a very bold, much more graphic look (for me, anyway)…and so I did, and originally made a card featuring black, white, and red–and an additional old stamp set, (featured in another post here). When I was done, though, I realized I’d changed the sketch around much more than suited me for this particular challenge, so I kept one of the same stamp sets, and went wild with texture, layers, and a much softer color palette of Blushing Bride, Cherry Cobbler, and Very Vanilla. I’m happy with both finished projects, but this one is much more in keeping with the #06 sketch!

RRBC06-Friend2


Here’s what I used, retired and retro-wise:

  • Stamps:  Affection Collection (from the 2012 SU Holiday Mini)
  • Tools/Embellishments: Elegant Lines and Vintage Wallpaper Embossing Folders; gathered ribbon in Blushing Bride; Cherry Cobbler and Blushing Bride buttons.

And I mixed all that in lovingly with my current and MUCH newer goodies:

  • Stamps:  Gorgeous Grunge
  • Tools/Embellishments: Perfect Polka Dots Embossing Folder; Corner Rounder, Modern Label and Sweetheart Punches; Cherry Cobbler Candy Dots; Cherry Cobbler 1″ Sheer Linen Ribbon (from the 2014 Holiday catty).

RRBC06-Friend3

This card combines an eclectic “affectionate collection” of some of my favorite stampin’ stuff–soft, sweet, and on the vintage side.  I love giving new life to classic stamps–and supplies–by mixing them in with all my new crafting goodies. Best of both worlds!  I really enjoyed playing along again with Retro Rubber and look forward to seeing the new “old” creations this time!

–Thanks for visiting my Little Corner today!!

8 thoughts on “A Collection of Affection for RRBC06

  1. Terri, your card is so pretty! I love all of the texture and blend of old and new! Your hearts are so lovely, especially with the double button embellishments! I am so happy that you are enjoying playing with your retro rubber stamps! Hope you will play again soon.

  2. Hi Terri! Thank you so much for allowing us to feature you! A very beautiful card. You have a lot going on in this card but it works perfectly!! I keep looking at it and discovering something new! Wonderful!! Thank you! Jane at Retro Rubber

Leave a Reply

