Sweet Valentine

PPA237-2

Valentine sweets–that’s what this challenge and my card make me think of. Candy and sweets are in every store and love is definitely in the air all over papercrafting-land, so I combined three challenges and played with paper rather than buying the three boxes of candy I really wanted!

First up, the bones of the card, via Pals Paper Arts #237PPA237-sketch sketch. I pretty much followed the sketch exactly for a change. Although that long rectangular bottom panel has a couple of the layers in the shape of a banner, the base piece holds true to the sketch’s shape.  And, of course it IS heavily layered with CS, embossing, and three different ribbons. Oh-one change: I layered my sentiment piece atop the heart border piece, rather than vice versa.

cqc276

My colors were supplied by Colour Q‘s most yummy #276 choices. How can you NOT think of candy when Chocolate Chip is on the menu? I definitely thought of the sweet little candy hearts available this time of year. But there’s a candy from yesteryear that was coated in chocolate and the centers were just about exact replicas of the SS and CC here…and COCONUT candy centers, too… hence my inclusion of Whisper White as my neutral of choice.

PPA237

I was also inspired by the Just Us Girls Challenge’s #277 photo.  This photo is the essence of sweetness, and the scattering of tasty-looking JUGS#277chocolate-based hearts definitely inspired and influenced my stamping arrangement as I smattered some colorful “candy” hearts across my background paper.  Ah, these Valentine sweets, that I don’t need to buy OR bake! Thankfully my hands have been  occupied with heart-shaped paper cutters, rather than the cookie cutters in the photo here!

PPA237-1I had fun putting this one together; I especially liked doing the white-embossed sentiment with “rubbed-in” inks from all the challenge colors. When my fingertips are as colorful as the paper when I’m done, it’s been a good stamping day–and keeps me out of the candy, cookies, and all the other sweet yumminess out there right now!


Here’s what I used:

  • Stamps: Good Greetings, Seasonally Scattered (the sentiments); Something to Say, You Brighten My Day (the hearts)
  • Paper (all Card Stock) and Inks: Strawberry Slush, Whisper White, Coastal Cabana, Crumb Cake, Chocolate Chip
  • Tools: Corner Rounder and Hearts Border Punches; White Embossing Powder and Heat Gun
  • Embellishments: Kraft Taffeta and Chocolate Chip Grosgrain Ribbons (retired); Strawberry Slush Thick Bakers’ Twine

–Thanks for visiting my Little Corner today! 

10 thoughts on “Sweet Valentine

  1. Wow Terri, your a busy beeeeee today friend , love it ! Yep your rite about the fingers , mine including the hand too, lol

  2. Really love your color combo and this card is Awesome! Love the scattered hearts and the hearts on the sentiment is a nice touch! Thanks for joining the girls and I at Just Us Girls this week!

  3. What a darling card! Love that texture behind the LOVE sentiment. Great take on the challenge, thanks for playing along with us this week at Just Us Girls!

Leave a Reply

