You Were the Music in My Heart

Fusion Heartful 6

Apparently I’m ending January the same way I began it–with shiny gold stuff that’s impossible to photograph well with my current set-up. But, in keeping with the other, better-known January tradition–of setting resolutions/goals and trying to stick with them–I’m going to plow right on and be happy that I played with paper and ink and was creative ANYWAY. 🙂   So, to my card:Fusion Heartful 2

I’ve been looking for the perfect inspiration for the one special card I decided to make this year–one I’ve never made since I started stamping several years ago. I found that inspiration with the Fusion Heartful Challenge this time.

Fusion HeartfulI love the Fusion concept, because you can use all or just part of the challenge and still be following the guidelines.  I chose to follow the sketch and a few of the elements of the photo to help me put together this labor of love (little pun there). I’ve used old and new supplies, stash product–including elements from my sewing stash, and some current tools to pull it all together.


Here’s what I used:

  • Stamps: Seasonally Scattered (retired SU!)
  • Paper: Basic Black and Real Red Card Stock. And some gold metallic textured paper from an old paper-pad–I think the texture kind of mimics the wood grain look in the photo.
  • Ink: Versamark and some Gold Stampin’ Emboss Powder
  • Tools: Hearts a Flutter, Circles Collection, and Apothecary Accents Framelits; Sweetheart Punch and Itty Bitty Accents Punch Pack; and a gifted-to-me embossing folder with a sheet-music look to it
  • Embellishments: some metallic red and some uber-cool black with red bling in it ribbons from my stash, and –my favorite thing: I found some buttons that look like they’re a perfect match to that one little red puffy-heart in the photo inspiration piece!

I’ve zoomed in here and worked with the lighting a Fusion Heartful 3lot to try to show the true focus of this card: the sheet music embossing with a cut out ruffled heart shape, leaving a kind of “hole” that I backed with red and then filled with the gold Sweetheart and the one tiny black popped up heart. Hard to see in the photos, I know–but trust me that the texture is there to tell the story behind the card. The music in MY heart died in 2006, so the hole cut out of the music here is a graphic representation of the way I feel. This valentine is for my hubby, whose absence from my daily life left quite the hole in my real heart.

Fusion Heartful 5I actually got into stamping for the first time and papercrafting (again) thanks to his daughter/my stepdaughter, who became a Stampin’ UP! demo the year after he died–partly to give herself something happy to do. It’s quite true that throwing yourself into a creative passion helps to fill voids in your life and gives you a place to put your feelings in a productive way. It helps you heal–somehow (I surely don’t know HOW)–a bit with everything you create. Perhaps because especially THIS particular hobby helps you see beauty again? I just know that I’m glad to have this outlet, this place and way to funnel what sometimes overflows from my heart from the hole that was left there. This year, I’m finally ready to “make things FOR” some of the people I love so much that left my life too soon. Greg was so very supportive of all my creative endeavors and I know he would have been my biggest cheerleader in this one.

And I’m happy that I know this, that THAT part of him remains with me even after all this time he’s been gone.  So, I took that little music-embossed heart that I punched out of the front piece….and I put it inside the card. Sort of like how I still feel that he is with me–even though I can’t see him where he used to be. He was the music in my heart….I just have had to learn how to sing and dance and play the tunes in a new way.  And, so, even if there’s some bittersweetness to this post and this creation, I am concentrating on and can FEEL the underlying joy (of my memories) and beauty (of my hope). That’s got a lovely melody all its own.

–Thanks for visiting my Little Corner today!

2 thoughts on “You Were the Music in My Heart

Leave a Reply

