Love and Watercolor

Deconstructed Sketch186-2I have a tendency to get obsessed with a stamp or paper or technique–or all of the above–once I start working with them. Since I missed so much paper play time last year when a lot of my stuff was new, I’m making up for lost time. Right now I’m “stuck on LOVE”–literally the “LOVE” stamp from Seasonally Scattered. And I’m finally getting to play with all Deconstructed Sketch186the DSP that I got last year, but had never even cut a piece of, in some cases, til recently.

My card was inspired by the Deconstructed Sketch No. 186 at Deconstructing Jen. These sketches are right up my alley, since they’re often featuring several layers and doodads that suit my normal style. But I actually tried to stay at least “Clean and Layered” with this one. Tried, at least. I wanted to feature this oh-so-lovely paper as much as possible, without other competing items. I also altered the orientation of the sketch to landscape mode, to allow the paper more show-off space and still accommodate the sentiment and banners. The bones of the sketch are still there, though!

Deconstructed Sketch186-3

Here’s what I used:

  • Stamps and Ink: Seasonally Scattered with Versamark and White Stampin’ Emboss Powder
  • Paper: Island Indigo, Whisper White, and Crisp Cantaloupe Cardstock (the coordinating colors list for the DSP says Tangerine Tango, but the soft wash of color is so much more compatible with the CC on this card); Watercolor Wonder DSP (this paper may technically be retired, but since it’s available in MDS, I consider it fair game forever. Thankfully. Coz it’s gorgeous!)
  • Tools: Ovals Collection and Hearts a Flutter Framelits; Sweetheart Punch and Itty Bitty Accents Punch Pack.

NO EMBELLISHMENTS.  *THUNK*  I think I just passed out over that fact. I may have to go back and throw on some ribbon or Candy Dots or SOMETHING!  Or else revisit the sketch and make something with 30,000 layers PLUS embellishments!  Yeah, that’ll work!


–Thanks for visiting my Little Corner today!

Leave a Reply

