A Bright Valentine for PPA238

PPA238-3

Whew! Didn’t know if I’d make it in, in time for this Pals Paper Arts Challenge. I really loved PPA238 Colorsthe colors for PPA238, though, so I had to do my best to play along. (I’ll regret this when it’s time to get up for the day job here in just a few hours, but glad I completed my mission!)  With Basic Gray, Pink Pirouette, and Rose Red, I knew I wanted some hearts, knew I wanted to use some stitching on my card, and knew I wanted to play with my new PP Blendies I received this week. Other than that, the card kind of shaped itself as I went along.

PPA238-1

I used Watercolor paper as my base to play with my inks. I don’t pretend to be any kind of artist, but I really do love playing with PPA238-2colors, and getting the new blendies in the softer colors for Spring is exciting. I worked in the PP Blendies first, then water-washed in varying intensities of the Rose Red (using my finally-purchased Regals refills–how did I live without these before?). I stamped in some Basic Gray with various pieces of a couple of sets. I wanted to give my card both a vintage, “well-loved” feel, but also with a bright “bling” to it. This card is earmarked for a sweet great-niece who likes this kind of style…and who really does brighten my day. I hope this card will brighten hers!


Here’s what I used:

  • Stamps:  You Brighten My Day; Gorgeous Grunge, Butterfly Basics
  • Inks: Memento Black, Basic Gray, Rose Red, Pink Pirouette Blendabilities
  • Paper: Basic Gray Cardstock; Watercolor paper; a salvaged sheet of DSP in a Pink Pirouette pattern from a really old SU batch
  • Tools: Hearts a-Flutter Framelits, Sweetheart Punch; Occasions Paper Piercing Pack
  • Embellishments: Whisper White Bakers’ Twine, Whisper White Taffeta Ribbon (from a Paper Pumpkin kit); Silver 1/8″ Ribbon; 952,000 Rhinestone Basics Jewels (well, that’s a bit of an exaggeration–sure felt like it, though)

–Thanks for visiting my Little Corner today!

2 thoughts on “A Bright Valentine for PPA238

  1. This card would brighten anyone’s day, Terri! So very pretty with lots of sweet details. The rhinestones catch the eye, but it is the lovely stitched heart and the fantastic bow that steals my heart. Thanks for staying up late to play along with us this week…

Leave a Reply

