Crafty Friends for Life

Valentine Cones-4My Relay for Life Team Captain–and literal “friend for life”–and I are still at it in fundraising efforts for the 2016 event. Cap’n Cheryl got us a gig making some table decorations for an area Valentine’s Day event. And, as always, our brainstorming came up with something that’s unique and that we’re both thrilled with–and we got to have the dual fun of crafting together and knowing we’re earning some money to fight cancer. What’s not to love about THAT kind of valentine?

Valentine Cones-1Our exuberance for the tree cones (featured here) encouraged the purchase of extras to see what else our crafty-hearts could create with them. Trees, we decided, were out of the question for heart-day. So–naturally, or not–the “nosegay” concept hatched out somewhere in all the smoke from the brainstorming.  You know–lay out the cone horizontally on the table and have some lovely florals and ribbon all over the place. Logical, right?  Well, okay, so crafting isn’t a logical process.  But it’s definitely interesting.

Cheryl painted the cones–something I missed most of while I was fighting being a sick old gal–but her facebook posts about the process had me laughing my head off.  I mean, really–when you see this:  “I shall now attempt the miraculous, the stupendous, the ridiculous!”, immediately following this: “whose bright idea was this? What a mess… I got one done, but glue was stuck all over my hands and the bottle was glued to my fingers.”–complete with step-by-step photographs of the insanity….well, it’s hard not to laugh!  But I digress–wait, no, I’ve merely detailed the process exactly as it unfolded: Brainstorm. Design. Paint. Make huge messes. Complete the decorating process.  And laugh a lot!

The decorating itself included a lot of flowers, even more ribbon, and a lot of figuring it out as we went along.  And, in the middle of it all, we were assisted by another fun crafty-type who has just joined the team. Megan volunteered to go wild with a few of the cones, and her designs ended up adding a lot of whimsy and fun.  Here are her creations:

This project just got better as it went along. And I think the tables will be beauties when it’s all put together with our fancy poseys/nosegays/crafty-cones taking center stage.


 

–Thanks for visiting my Little Corner today!

 

 

 

One thought on “Crafty Friends for Life

  1. Pingback: Valentine Flowers for a Cause | TLC–Terri's Little Corner of the world

Leave a Reply

