Feb 2016 Magic Mirror Love

Feb 16 Mirror Love 10Feb 16 Mirror Love 4

 

 

Last year I started what I’d intended to be a monthly thing wherein I’d decorate a mirror for display with some kind of month-specific “stuff”. I got January’s done (here), and then life intervened (as it often does in my little corner of the world) and I had to set the idea aside for awhile. Now that I’ve finally gotten (mostly) settled in from my recent move, I’m ready to pick up again with some craftiness for my mirror, mirror on the wall.  And, of course, February called for a little love.

It just so happened the January My Paper Pumpkin provided the perfect starting point for this endeavor.  Feb 16 Mirror Love 1

Among all the finery included in this month’s kit, I found hearts and banners that literally just popped out of the pages, a perfect color palette, and the stamps and embellishments that acted as the kickstart for the other items I decided to add in.

I’m absolutely in love with the paper in this year’s SU Occasions catalog, so discovering that one of my most favorite pages
was the perfect coordination was a big bonus. (Of course, that meant I had to actually CUT that paper…. which took a minute or two to get up the nerve to actually DO….but now I get to look at this lovely paper, and my mirror gets to look at the backside of it instead of ME, so we’re all happy here.)

I pulled out my “January insert” that I’d popped back in from last year’s efforts (still worked very nicely this year), and used that as my sizing guide for making my cut.
(Heck, this paper is so beautiful, I’d have been happy with JUST it in the mirror….)

But I made a rose for my center heart piece from one of the PP hearts using the spiral cut

from a circle method, and then punched some more blossoms out of a couple others to make some lovely daisy-ish flowers on the other two.  And I stamped a bunch, inked a bunch more, and–as always–threw in some gorgeous ribbon. (I LOVE this satiny-fabulous stuff!)

Feb 16 Mirror Love 10

My finished frame will adorn and brighten my room for an extra day this Leap Year, and then I hope to come up with some March madness magic to change it out again.


Here’s what I used for this project (all Stampin’ Up!):

  • Stamps: Awesomely Artistic; January My Paper Pumpkin set; Perfect Pennants; Timeless Textures
  • Paper: items (striped and solid hearts and banners) from the January MPP kit; Birthday Bouquet DSP; Metallic Foil Doilies
  • Ink: Smoky Slate, Blushing Bride, Watermelon Wonder, Mint Macaron, Memento Tuxedo Black
  • Tools: Blossom Bunch Punch
  • Embellishments: Twine and Clothespins from January MPP; Watermelon Wonder 1″ Stitched Satin Ribbon; Pearl Basic Jewels

–Thanks for visiting my Little Corner today!

3 thoughts on “Feb 2016 Magic Mirror Love

  1. Pingback: Another 25 Paper Crafting Picks to Inspire You! | Stampin' Pretty

  2. Absolutely stunning, Terri! What a fantastic idea!! I love your alternative use of the Paper Pumpkin kit and the colors are wonderful. Cutting the paper means buying more, of course – doesn’t it?? Off to Pin and find a mirror… 😀

  3. Pingback: March’s Mirror-Reflecting Joy | TLC–Terri's Little Corner of the world

Leave a Reply

