A bright Valentine greeting

AR ValentineThe Global Design Project has a great sketch this week and I used it to showcase yet another cut from the Bloomin’ Hearts Thinlit Die, AR Valentine-3which I’m over-the-moon in love with. This time, however, the heart went inside my card, and some retired, but still well-loved dsp took centerstage on my card front.

GDP022I’ve interpreted the sketch pretty strictly, except I went square with my card shape.  My card is for the mother of a dear friend, and I wanted something with vibrant colors to brighten her day. I’ve got a lot going on here with the vivid colors, the shapes, the tactile experience of the popped up flowers, twine, and layered doilies, and the shiny sparkle added by AR Valentine-4the gold doily and the Wink of Stella added to the entire face of the Daffodil Delight heart cutout inside. As with all my cards, there’s a good mix of old and new items here; and I always love seeing how well all my crafting “stuff” coordinates as a project comes together.

And since I’d created an odd-sized card, I had a great reason to make my own AR Valentine-5envelope (and use up even more of my hoarded huge stash of dsp). I love all the gingham and floral print going on here. I hope it made the recipient’s heart smile as much as it does mine.


Here’s what I used: (all SU! unless otherwise stated)

Stamps: Good Greetings (retired) and a couple of heart shapes from last year’s My Paper Pumpkin Valentine set.

Inks (and other liquid-y stuff): Memento Tuxedo Black; Melon Mambo, and Smoky Slate pads, Basic Black Stampin’ Write Marker; Clear Wink of Stella Glitter Brush

Paper: Gingham Garden DSP (retired); Daffodil Delight, Melon Mambo, and Whisper White Cardstock; Gold metallic heart doily from this year’s MPP; a white paper heart from the Valentine’s goodies section at my local craft supply store.

Tools: Curvy Corner Trio, Sweetheart, 2″ Circle, and 1-3/4″ Scallop Circle Punches; Bloomin’ Hearts Thinlits Die; Boho Blossoms Punch (retired)

Embellishments: Some sparkly twine and a Blushing Bride pearl (both from MPP kits)


 

–Thanks for visiting my Little Corner today!

 

2 thoughts on “A bright Valentine greeting

  1. What a bright and cheery card, Terri! So glad to see you playing along with our challenge this week. Thank you so much for playing along with this week’s Global Design Project Sketch Challenge!

Leave a Reply

