Simply TGIF Hello

Hello Lil Sunshine-3My card-making style tends toward the fussy/intricate, vintage, highly embellished, and lots and lots of ribbon. And, unless I’m going for dramatic, Christmasy, or blingy, my preferred colors are softer and more subtle. Today’s card threw all that out the window, and for once I liked the result. Several layers, but otherwise simple and cute.

TGIF FEB Challenges-002I’m playing along with the TGIF Challenge this week and I really liked the sketch. It allowed me to showcase yet more retired dsp I’m trying to put to good use. (As I make more room for new stuff??  Possibly!)  It also is the perfect vehicle to use this huge greeting from the Sale-a-Bration collection. I have a hard time figuring out exactly how to utilize the really big sentiment stamps, so I don’t have a lot of them in my stamp collection. But this freebie gave me a good way to work outside my comfort zone. And “hello” is always the perfect place to start, no?

Hello Lil Sunshine-2I have every intention of NOT using the Curvy Corner Trio Punch sometime in the near future of my cardmaking, but it’s hard to put this one down. This simple touch (admittedly to every open corner here) provided almost the only “embellishment” I added.


Here’s what I used (all SU):

  • Stamps: Hello
  • Inks: Daffodil Delight; Memento Tuxedo Black
  • Paper: Daffodil Delight Card Stock; Painted Blooms DSP (retired)
  • Tools: Curvy Corner Trio Punch
  • Embellishment: Whisper White ribbon from a My Paper Pumpkin kit

–Thanks for visiting my Little Corner today!

 

Leave a Reply

