Happy Day BCA for Stampin’ Royalty

I found an interesting sketch to work with to create another Breast Cancer Awareness card. Unfortunately, my stamping time usually means I complete my project in the middle of some very dark hours, and my photos don’t generally have enough light in them. On this photo, it makes a big difference–I PROMISE that row of pearls is a lot straighter than that in real life–it’s sitting atop a piece of pleated paper, so it came out wavy looking in the pic.  Ooops!

Anyway, Stampin’ Royalty‘s sketch intrigued me–the “flagged” bottom strip presented a challenge all its own.  I needed to use pink, needed to employ ribbon somewhere on the design (since this month is all about the “pink ribbon” thing)  …. and I needed to work within the sketch parameters. This was even harder than I thought it would be—hence the name “challenge” on these things, right?

I planned the card around the patterns in the Fan Fair DSP. It is such a gorgeous batch of papers! I originally wanted to use something that also pulled in the Island Indigo from this set, but ended up going with only a sheet with Riding Hood Red and one with Pink Pirouette. When I decided to add my little bird to the mix, I threw in some Lucky Limeade and Certainly Celery for some contrast.

I went ‘punch happy’ again with my card (I’m REALLY wanting to punch out some cancer BIG TIME right now!) …I’ve used the Bird Builder, Blossom Petal Builder, Decorative Label, 3/4-inch Circle, the 5/16″ Corner rounder, the Dotted Scallop Ribbon Border, the Boho Blossom punch, AND the “saw tooth” Edgelit from the Finishing Touches set. Whole lotta punchin’ goin’ on here!

I kind of free-form made a little nest of leaves and “flowers” for my sweet bird. There’s a couple of snippets of pink ribbons from my stash, and I’ve used a Vintage Faceted Button and some pearls to further bling up the sentiment and punch-feature panels. The sentiment is from Friendly Phrases.  (As I try to help raise awareness this month, I also want to send happy tidings to those dealing with breast cancer right now.)

Back to that wonky-looking strip of pearls. This long-line-of-luscious bling is the strip from the Pearl Basics Jewels, atop the ribbon border strip, atop some of the DSP that I pleated with the help of glue dots, and all that is layered atop the Lucky Limeade strip cut with that sawtooth Edgelit. It kind of created the illusion of pennants, I thought, which tied back in nicely with the sketch. The photo here at the right has been super-saturated with highlights so that the pleating would show up on the strip of DSP…and hopefully, it also shows the height/thickness of all those layers to maybe sort of excuse the crooked-looking line of pearls?  Hopefully!

I enjoyed working with this sketch, and like the fact that I was forced to think a bit beyond my comfort zone with the design elements.

……and now I’ve completed another card that I hope to use to raise awareness–and money–in the fight against breast (and ALL) cancers with my ACS Relay for Life activities.  Think pink–and fight like a girl!

–Thanks for visiting my Little Corner today! –Terri

1 thought on “Happy Day BCA for Stampin’ Royalty

Leave a comment